Thursday, Jun. 28, 2007 12:01 pm

More rain

It is still raining and has rained every day this week. I still am enjoying it. There were 19 inches of rain night before last in Marble Falls. Intense flooding and the lakes are overflowing and the floodgates are open.

We even had a rainout at our show last night. The second show this season to be stopped by rain and that has never happened in a season before. We made it through the radio part and until 940 so we were okay with that. They got their "money's" worth.

Mark and I have been sticking to the diet this week, too. I've lost four pounds. Three more and I'll be where I was in March and where I was when Daddy got sick last year. It really has gotten easier. I was under a lot of inner-created stress yesterday and I still didn't blow it. I did have some raisins that were mixed in with almonds that I had at my desk, but that was all. I also have had drinks on Tuesday night and last night, but not crazy and no bread. I was hungry (or bored) when I got home last night, but Jello solved that. I need to make more Jello.

I've had some great nights this week. Monday I went to the Saxon to see Jason and Elizabeth. My friend Pat was there again so we visited and Big Mike and a couple of his friends were there and I always like him. I stayed for part of that show and then went to see Mark and his band. During his break, he had Black Joe Lewis come on stage with his band. They were so interesting. Super high energy. He did "Bitch I Love You" but his lyrics are so unintelligible that I couldn't tell if it was it! The three white boys in his band look like freedom fighters in Mississippi in the sixties.

Tuesday was really a great night. I had to go to the shower for Miss Anne at her TV studios. I didn't know a whole lot of people so I was getting a little bored. Then Mark got there. We went up the stairs to see the rest of the place and ended up on a rooftop deck that overlooks Congress and was so cool! And then I saw a big firework go off! And another! It was a BIG display. I was so confused. It was just Tuesday. It isn't Independence Day yet. What was this about? And then I realized it was probably the new Dell Children's hospital's dedication. It was so cool. It felt like it was just for us on our 15th anniversary of meeting.

After the party we went up the street to see Sunny at Ego's a little bit. That place was packed! Then we went to see Susie, our favorite bartender, at Joe's. She is such a dynamo and makes you feel so good! Mark was hungry so he had seared tuna and a salad and I shared some. Really good.

Yesterday and last night, not as great as Tuesday night, of course. I had to go to a record guy lunch and I hate those things. Boring. I just don't care about other radio stations and all the players and all the gossip. Glad when it was over. And of course, they had asked me and included the singer and the star and they weren't there, so that made it a lot less interesting.

And this week has been one of those weeks where something is just thrown in our laps. The CMA nomination for Station of the Year is due at 5 p.m. today. Of course, they only let us know they need airchecks on Monday. I was scrambling because most of my older clips are in my laptop and since it has had so much weirdness they were corrupt or my voice sucked. I got them a few things and some interviews and people singing live, but who knows what it will come out as. I feel more frustrated for the ones that really had to work on it.

Also, a co-worker is on vacation and he is asking me to make weekend schedules and things by email. He might have asked me to do that last week, you'd think. Errrrrr.

So now I'd better get up to the station and see what I need to do. This morning of relaxing and enjoying the rain and the quiet is over.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland