Monday, Jun. 19, 2006 11:09 am

Good Dallas weekend

We had a pretty good weekend with my family. We drove through a lot of pouring rain on Saturday morning early to get to Waco for the band concert.

I thought this was a cute story. On Friday night when Mark played in San Antonio there were very few people in the restaurant where they played. But one couple just loved the band and sent them up a round of wine. Then another. And another. Mark finally got on the mic and said, "Hello, by a show of hands, how many of us are going to be up early enough to go to a high school band concert at 1030 in the morning in Waco?....? .... Just me? Okay, enough with the wine!" He went on to tell them about his brilliant and cool nephew who had a poster of Miles Davis on his wall when he was 11 and had a fish named Miles.

The band concert really was phenomenol. I don't know that Mark has gone to any of the boys band performances ever, so I was glad he got to hear how incredible they can be. They did a song called Ghost Train that sounded like a movie soundtrack. Such a good performance.

After the concert my sister and both nephews and Mark and I went to lunch. Then the boys rode with him and I rode with my sister and we went to their house in Dallas for a bit.

Then on up to the parents and we took them to dinner at the Olive Garden. Dad came to the door with his shirt still hanging open and all his bandages and scars exposed. That was so unlike my father who has never gone shirtless in his life. After dinner, back at the house, with Fox TV blaring, Daddy told some good stories about his childhood that I had never heard. He told about having a metal lunchbox (the story brought on my Mark's sale of a lunchbox on eBay this week for $80) and beating a kid up with it at school. The kid he beat up got more swats for fighting than he did, so the teachers must have known he didn't initiate the fight, though it sounds like he won it!

Sunday morning, Mark got up early and went driving around the countryside where he used to visit a lot because he had a girlfriend up there. He also brought home donuts and kolaches for breakfast, which was very sweet. Sunday morning my mother wanted me to see her surgery. Ew. But, I knew she needed the attention and the love, so I saw my mother's purple bruised breast and gave her some much needed sympathy. She had been very mad at Dad for having several nosebleeds on Saturday... her one day to still be recovering and getting attention. Then she wanted me to see Dad's scars. Ew. She pulled off his bandages despite his griping and screaming about the pain she was causing and showed me the three gaping holes that still exist on his stomach. Ew. Enough!

We took them to see the Da Vinci Code and we all liked it. It was a pretty good outing. We took them back home and it was almost five pm by that point, so we said our goodbyes and got on the road.

Today we may know some news about Mother's biopsy. Meanwhile, my sister and her family are flying across Europe on their way to Holland. For their sake and for my selfish sake and for my mother and dad, I hope we get some great news this afternoon. Even if it still involved a lumpectomy or more surgery, I pray it isn't cancer.

When we got home last night I watched basketball and that heartbreaking overtime loss to Miami. A drum guy and his wife came over and stayed a long time. We hadn't met them before, but they were nice and I didn't mind her. She enjoyed the game with me and another drummer who was here too. It was a long visit from all of them. After the couple left, I went on to bed.

Today there may be odd things to face at work. There was an email about a full staff meeting at 11 am. I decided I would pretend I didn't get the email, because I sure wasn't going to be up there that early. Then Cotton called and said the rumor is that our GM is leaving us. I can't imagine why he would leave on his own, but stranger things have happened. He is a good man and I enjoy working with him. I like him and he likes me, but he is not the kind of guy that would ever stick his neck out for me, so it might not make any difference if he leaves in that way. We'll just roll with the flow and I'll see what happens I suppose.

Now it is already late in the morning and I do need to find something to eat and get to work and see what's up.

Happy Juneteenth. I am embarassed by the celebration of Juneteenth. It is a shame that those poor slaves didn't get their freedom when they SHOULD have had it a year earlier or whenever.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland