Friday, Jun. 11, 2004 11:49 pm

Reagan Funeral

Have we all spent the day watching President Reagan's funeral? Everyone in my family "loves a good funeral" so we watched it and called back and forth on the phone to one another. The timing was perfect for me for most of it... I saw the Washington portion before I went to the chiropractor and work and saw the California part after I got home tonight.

Weird to talk to one of my young co-workers who was born in 1981. Reagan was her president until she was 8 or so and the only president she knew as she got into school. She said she was very confused when he was no longer the president. He, of course, was president all through my 20s and the first president I could have voted for. But I didn't. I think that was when John Anderson was the Independent candidate and I voted for him.

This has been an exhausting week. President Reagan's death was sad, Ray Charles' death, to me, was even more sad because of the unexpectedness or it and the musical connections, and then my boss's quitting. I get to sleep late tomorrow and I hope I can.

I went to my good new chiropractor today and am so glad I have so many compassionate people in my life right now. He was incredible helpful with insight about my job situation and changes there and depression and anxiety, etc. etc. And a nice hug before I left. I need lots of hugs this week.

I had a good long sit down with my boss today (what am I going to call him in my journal next week???) I heard his reasons for leaving again and a few more and was able to discuss his future and my future without crying, blubbering, or going into I-Love-You-Man mode.

And I haven't written in a couple of days so let me make sure I note that Mark listened and heard me when I told him we needed to have some time together. We agreed to have dinner together last night and soon after we agreed, he got a call for a gig. I really thought he would take the gig, but he didn't. He turned it down because he already had the commitment to me. That made me feel special. We had a nice dinner last night and came home and watched Waiting for Guffman. What a fun movie. I feel much less anxious and more relaxed today because of that little bit of togetherness. And the drugs. I think the drugs are beginning to kick in.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland