Monday, Jun. 14, 2004 9:57 am

Busy DD Weekend

It was a good weekend. Busy. A couple of remotes including a big one yesterday at a dealership that overlapped with all of our sister stations. Weird to be out there with all the co-workers, but fun. A little crazy because of the number of people it drew and, of course, they wanted prizes from every one of us. There is one new prize whore that has begun to be at every remote and stay almost the entire time she was at both of mine this weekend. Her picture is probably next to the word "drab" in the dictionary. Saturday she was encouraging me to have a matchmaker segment on my show so I could "find her a man." I wouldn't wish that on any of my male listeners. She did nothing but complain at both remotes . . . Yall should have t-shirts, why aren't you giving away tickets to this, they should have had this sale last year when I needed a car, they probably wouldn't approve someone with bandruptcy would they... on and on.

I feel weird today complaining about a listener because I have a listener reading the the journal now. Hi K! She emailed me at work last week and said a nice hi and said she enjoyed me on the radio and in my journal. Oh Man! The anxiety that started coursing through my system with that. She and I have emailed a couple of times and she is a perfectly nice normal person. I don't know why it alarms me. Am I that different in these two forums? My journal writing friends in Austin certainly all know I work at the station and I think Kramer is maybe the only one that ever tunes in.

I guess a lot of the anxiety is from the image I put out on the radio of all happiness and light there at work is often destroyed here when I complain about co-workers, clients, listeners. But, hey, I'm working on honesty and being myself in both places. Truly, I don't lie on the radio, I just don't say some things at all.

Anyway...

Went to see my favorite band Saturday night at Gruene. Every one of them made me feel so special there. The drummer was coming to the front gate to make sure I didn't pay a cover (which was nice because I am SO broke right now and it was extra high because they were just opening), the bass player followed me to my car when I left because he got alarmed when I turned around behind a building and was out of sight in the dark and he wanted to make sure I made it okay, the guitar player called me when we were both on the road because he hadn't had a chance to tell me goodbye at the gig, and my favorite, DD, hooked me up with his nice cousin so I would have someone to be with during the gig and could avoid another strange listener that comes to everything he does.

So I've complained about two listeners today while I'm so hyper-aware of a listener reading, let me be sure and note the listener I met that was the absolute highlight of the weekend. I was at Gruene, standing next to the sound board with Karl where I could see the stage and not have rude people keep standing in front of me and a woman came over and asked if I was who I was. She was the sweetest thing and said she works in San Antonio and drives home to near Blanco every afternoon and I am so important to her. She went on and on about my sincerity, especially at the hospital last week. It really touched me because I could see she was touched (ha, in a good way). I thanked her and we talked and then she went back to her seat. In a bit she came back and gave me her St. Christopher medal on a chain and said she wanted me to have it. It was the sweetest gesture. She went on and sat down, but I had to find her again and tell her that, after the rough week I have had, that was the nicest thing and I would treasure it. And I really am. I haven't taken it off since. In my whole long life, I have never had a St. Christoper medal. It's funny because they were THE thing when I was in school and that's what you exchanged with boyfriends and girlfriends. Being the good Baptist I was, we didn't believe in such things. I don't know that I do know, either, but I'll use anything to protect me through this trying time.

Our neighbors across the street are loading up and closing on their house sale today and leaving for Georgia. It is a month of departures. This is what a nine year in numerology is supposed to be and I'm only in a six year. I hope the departures are over for a while and new beginnings are better.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland