Sunday, Jul. 09, 2006 10:35 am

Weekend

Groggy Sunday morning. The CD release was a big success and a lot of fun. I had a record guy there from Fort Worth/Bakersfield that is a pretty odd guy. He's quite a name-dropper, but I'm glad he came to see the band. He was ready to leave to go see other friends of his play, but I insisted he stay for Mark's song. Fortunately, they did do it after just one other. He was impressed and said he had not heard a Katrina song like that. Well, of course he hadn't! It is unique.

Went upstairs to the gallery afterward to schmooze, eat pizza, visit, and listen to the jazz trio. Met Mike, the organ player. He's been a friend of my friend Steve's forever and I was glad to finally meet him. It was a good time, especially visiting with M&M, even though she was working hard for this event as the publicist. After, I went by the grocery and got home and went to bed superlate.

Yesterday I saw Rocky for acupunture. It has been probably over a year since I've had a treatment. It was really nice. Also got some anti-anxiety help from her with L-Theanine, an amino acid.

Alarming phone call from my sister between acupuncture and my remote. I was going by to get some Seth CDs at the record store, but called her back. My brother-in-law did some serious drinking Friday night and stood up his sons for dinner, wasn't answering his phone when anyone called, finally talked to my sister but insisted he was at the office although bar sounds were obviously present, and was slurring his words terribly. Then he hung up without her knowing where he was. Fortunately, he did take a taxi home (with no money to pay for it). This is very unlike him. I worry about his mid-life crisis with his 50th looming and his son leaving for college, but I mostly worry for her and the boys and how they are going to deal with this.

My brother-in-law is a wonderful man. I respect him and love him and I want him to be in my family forever. Not only him, but HIS wonderful family are just a part of our family now. I want this to all work out without lots of bitterness and trouble. Is that possible? He is a fabulous father and he's a great husband, but something is seriously wrong right now in his life and I think he trying to escape it with liquor. I wonder if he is having an affair. It wouldn't surprise me in some ways, but, man, I hate that thought.

So, on to brighter subjects. I had a great remote at the boat store. Lots of people buying boats and lots of people came to see me, and I enjoyed visiting with the daughter there that I've watched grow up in these last few years. I haven't seen the mom in ages and I miss her. I think I'll send her a card.

Got a haircut on the way home and then got here and crashed for a little while. I don't think I really slept, just dozed. Then I wanted to grill and I remembered I had hamburger so I put it on the grill, but it wouldn't cook. There was a flame, just not much of one, so I guess that is my signal that I am out of propane. Bummer. Twenty minutes of cooking and they were hardly touched, so I brought them in and cooked them under the broiler. We ate hamburger, a crunchy bean and corn salad, and my favorite zucchini dish and watched The Big Lebowski. Funny.

Then I started feeling crappy and continued to feel crappy through the rest of the night. Don't feel so hot this morning either. Probably just comes with exhuastion.

Today, I am going to work on this office (how many weeks have I said that?) and just chill. No need to get out and do much except here at the house. I do need to pull a bunch of weeds and maybe see about putting down some mulch. Mowing would be in order, too, but I want to see if I can talk Mark into that today.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland