Friday, Jul. 07, 2006 10:56 am

The Case of the Missing Cans

Friday. I thought it might not get here this week. For a "short" holiday week, I am exhausted. Considering I've worked more in the last seven days than I normally do in any given seven days, I guess it makes sense. I'm busy tomorrow, too, so I'm really looking forward to Sunday and hope I get some time alone then.

Tonight is the big CD release party and I'm looking forward to it. I hope there is a big happy crowd ready to shell out the money. They play weekly for free so I hope people do come and pay the cover and support them.

I was super irritated at work yesterday. Gee, that's something new, isn't it? In radio we buy our own headphones and it is a breach of radio etiquette to go using someone's headphones without permission. Many times Cotton has grabbed my headphones for a guest on their show to use. That irritates me tremendously, but really really pisses me off when those headphones don't end up back where they belong, in my drawer. I have had a serious chew-out on him for that before. So... time goes on and I don't know if he is using my phones or not, but they are always in my drawer when I am ready for a show... Until yesterday.

I distinctly remember putting them in the drawer Wednesday night and now they are not there. I go searching high and low and in every studio and I can't find them anywhere. I have another pair to use on the air and I put out an APB through the receptionist's email that they have disappeared. In my search for my phones, I find another pair I have sort of missed in the morning man's drawer. I have no clue how these ended up there at all, because these are the ones that I usually have in my car. I don't know if I forgot them after a remote and they ended up back at the station somehow, or what. So that is a mystery and might have a perfectly innocent explanation.

So I'm on the air with old cans for an hour and a half when Cotton calls and asks if my phones have shown up. No, I say. He says that there was a pair in a box of CDs in my office earlier in the day, could that be the ones? I go to my office and there they are... in a very very odd place. There is NO WAY in this world I would have put my headphones there and, while I can't be certain 100%, I don't think they were there two hours earlier when I was searching. I really did look in that office thoroughly because it is likely that I might lay them on the desk and walk off. But I would never have laid them down on those CDs under my desk... EVER. My theory, impossible to prove, is that Cotton got the email, realized he didn't sneak my phones back to where they belong in time, so he sneaks them back to a different place (my drawer would just point up the fact that they were sneaked back) and plants them and then calls me, casually, as if he just got the email and thought "Hey, I saw those in the office."

I've learned my lesson (again) and I locked up the phones in my desk and I locked the office. Cotton doesn't have a key to the office for some strange reason, but I'm going to keep locking it and if he doesn't have a way to get in it some morning, he's on his own. He had a key once and he can ask the building supervisor for another.

I guess I need to get my act together and go up there to work. Why does my chest have pain when I have that thought?


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland