Monday, Jul. 10, 2006 11:22 am

Recap of an unspectacular Sunday

Not much got accomplished yesterday, but it was Sunday so nothing should be accomplished except resting. Mark went to an insulator collector show and had a ball seeing how much some of his collection is worth. He picked up the cutest little cobalt blue insulator that was a souvenir of the convention, too.

I need to get some CDs packaged up and in the mail to my nephews and to my aunt.

Heard from the golf course people and the "check's in the mail." Let's hope so. I don't want to have to fight about it! I'm sure they are good for it and it will be here soon. It is gravy and I'm not depending on it, so I don't need to worry over it.

I fiddled around yesterday with my fountain project, but only got discouraged. Ideas I have don't work in the real world. I did get a fountain put together as a mock-up, but it didn't make any noise. I need there to be the sound of some splashing water. And then I got bit by a herd of mosquitos so I gave up.

Read a big article in the paper yesterday that is part of a series of counties in the U.S. that drove African-Americans out of town and they have never significantly returned to those counties. My "home" county, Comanche, that I love so much was featured prominently. I have heard about the sign "Don't let the sun set..." that was once in the county, but I didn't know about the banishment and force that was used. And I didn't know Comanche was the ONLY one in Texas to do it. That makes me incredibly sad. I love that county and am proud to have heritage there, but I wouldn't want anyone to think that that is part of my heritage. In the article, only one of my ancestors was named. An uncle was sheriff at the time this all occurred and he didn't do enough to stop it, but wasn't a leader of the plan, at least. I wish I could have read that my great-something-grandmother stepped out of her house and said, "These people are my friends and they have a right to live here" or something as dramatic. It didn't. I will take this article to the reunion and ask people from Comanche what they know about our ancestors part in it. Most of the cities mentioned in the article were also further north. Maybe the south part of the county wasn't as touched.

Last night we went over to M&M's place. That was the first time Mark and I have gone out as a couple to someone's house in forever. I wonder really how long it has been? We had a really nice visit. I think she wanted to get to know Mark. She served up a fabulous appetizer of cherries, pistachios, almonds, grapes (and wine) and then moved on to a cold main course of Italian beef, cheese, olives and more olives, mozzarella and tomatoes and basil, and good bread (and wine) and then dessert of peach pie. It was so pleasant. I had been feeling crappy all day, but dinner distracted me from that crappy feeling.

I think I'm feeling better today. Not quite as tired or washed out. Not really ready to face the day, exactly, but better.

I think I am going to load up on aromatherapy products and cleaning products, too. I think I need to shift the energy in the rooms I work in at the station before I start doing my job. They depress me. Maybe if I do a ritualistic cleaning and spritz some asshole repellant around I will be able to work more effectively.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland