Thursday, Jul. 31, 2008 10:42 pm

Anxiety

I have lots to write tonight--- the story about last night's DD show at the cafe, the bio I need to update/crankout for this up-and-comer kid, and another report for the doctor. I figure I can do his last since it only requires dexterity and no creativity. But it looks like I'll be here at the computer for a while this evening.

It was an anxiety filled day and I didn't have any Xanax with me. So I drank. That helped. There just seemed to be lots of things. I guess the first that really caused my heart to have physical pain was that a record guy wrote a short terse email. I had had a conversation last night with a Texas artist that just recorded an old Stevie Wonder song in a country way. I talked to him about it last night and questioned the choice of cut to release to radio. It is a very good version of the song, and catchy, but I questioned whether radio would latch on to it since it is a pop song that is familiar to pop audiences and not a singer/songwriter original. I truly don't know if the singer was hurt, but he relayed the conversation to the record guy and the record guy was definitely pissy. I want to be honest with people. I want to be able to say what I think, and I really didn't say anything bad about the song, only the choice of it as the single. But maybe I should wait until someone asks. Maybe that was where I screwed up.

Then at work there were many issues that made me get anxious. One was trying to get the contact info for a guy opening the show in two weeks. It took several back and forth emails with this aggravating booking agent to get her to answer the fucking question of "how do I get in touch with this guy" only to find out he can't do the gig. So I need to find a replacement for him and now the booking agent is asking if we can swap someone so he can play another week. No, sorry. SHE screwed up and he'll have to take the hit (and we don't pay anything anyway, what difference would it make? it was only the exposure in front of THIS artist that he wanted anyway).

The show tonight was good at the Grove. The first band, future clouds and radar, were a lot better than I expected, though they were a little disorganized and lackadaisical. Then the headliner, White ghost Shivers, was entertaining and highly original and theatrical. I don't know how they did it in this heat. I got a little bored with banjo and clarinet, but it was a good show. M&M came after all. She was supposed to leave town and then didn't, so she was there a short while.

I dont' think I wrote yesterday about the emails from my craziest cousin Becky. Her daughter had a baby Monday and she sends out an email yesterday all about how they couldn't get the baby to nurse or the daughter to produce milk and she went into extremely excruciating and nauseating details that no one needs to know. Horrific. The emails flew afterward (not including her of course) about her lack of decency and her controlling nature. sigh

I have been working on genealogy and that is all I want to to work on tonight. I'm sure that is where some of this anxiety is coming from, too. There is always so much I want to do before a reunion. I should go read what I was doing last year at this time. I'm sure there was anxiety then, too. Of course I also had a job then so I didn't have the time to get anxious about the reunion (or maybe I got more anxious, I don't know).

I also expect I'm feeling a little shell shock from meeting my "replacement" last night at the cafe. The afternoon disc jockey. He's a very nice guy and he says he had emailed me in the past and was a big fan of mine. I dont' know if it equates to seeing your ex with a new girlfriend or just someone driving your old car, but it just feels wrong that this guy is taking over where I was so DAMN good at what I did. That hurts a lot.

I did get to see DD last night and he is such a dear friend. I think his shows get cheesier and cheesier and he talks more than he sings, but he is fun to watch and he enjoys himself. I wondered if he really DID enjoy himself or if it was just the actor putting on a show, but I asked and he says he really does.

Okay, I've taken my shower, had some cool water, and it is time to get down to work for the evening (geez--- I've just been AT work for the last 10 hours). Oh, but the unemployment checks have started again and that will be a big help to meet our obligations. That makes me very very happy.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland