2000-07-23 10:25 pm

Party re-cap

Oh, I'm old and crotchety (that word is even weirder when it is written). My legs hurt tonight. My friend Kathy from Dallas and her sister were here for the weekend and last night was my summer girls only party and I'm pooped! I'll need this week's vacation to recover.

The party was a nice success and lots of fun for me. I'm sure there were a few guests that didn't have the greatest time of their lives but I think most of us had fun and were glad we did it. I can't believe how much food and drink I have in my house now. Everyone brought something and then left it so there are snacks and drinks aplenty for another party. In fact, I might just suggest to the hubby to invite the band over tomorrow night.

I did my best to give Kathy a feel for Austin. She's from California and Colorado and hasn't ever visited Austin. I took her to El Arroyo and Shady Grove and Amy's and Cisco's(food always utmost in my mind when I'm thinking of entertaining). We tried to go to Barton Springs but on a Saturday that is apparently impossible. I'll hope she comes on a weekday sometime to really experience it like it is meant to be experienced. Today we went to the Capitol and the campus of U.T. and were delighted when rain began to fall. What a surprise and a shock. Rain in July? What a novelty.

I gave Kathy the url of this journal so now I have to wonder if I have ever written about her and her husband Charles in here before. I don't think I have and if I have I would assume there would be nothing to hide. Kathy and I have been friends for, gee, maybe 15 years now and she's as good as friends come. She's sold my house, she's "bridal consulted" (and we're not talking horses here), she's been with me through good times and bads and job after job after job. And, best of all, her husband (who is an old friend of mine separately from her friendship) and my husband have a good time together. That is a hard thing to find as a couple---another couple that you both like them both. So, Kathy, if you've found the site, you'll have a look at life on a more regular basis and I'm glad you're my friend!

It's interesting to have a party and to see not only who comes but who doesn't come. Kind of gives you a feel for where you should concentrate your friendships. I had the bulk of my neighbor ladies here and I loved that. Two that didn't come called with profuse apologies and prior commitments. I'd like to do this again maybe just for the neighbor ladies. And maybe I should include their children. One poor little five-year-old talked to his Mom through the front door: "But, Mom, what are you DOING in there? Why don't you come home? Is it a BABY shower?" Friends from my Artist's Way class came, which was nice because they are an interesting and diverse bunch and I really like them, especially the two that came. The group that didn't have much representation was the work faction. One "certain to be there" didn't come, one declined apologetically at the office with another commitment and one from work showed up, I'm sure a polite response to me coming to her house last weekend for a party and she lives nearby. I'm a little miffed that none of the other girls (not there are many) from the office even bothered to send me an e-mail or call. They are young. They won't be invited next time. Old friends are the best. They were here in full force and were the most fun. Perfect Carolyn came and brought a cool friend I had met once before. Grace and old pal (can't remember her psuedonym) were here and were a riot. And web friend Jette was here too. That was really a nice surprise since she came knowing only me and came all the way across town. That gives me a nice warm glow. I hope she liked my friends. I think she and Grace and psuedonymless friend are very much alike: all very bright, quick witted and _______ (what's another good word that means intelligent and funny?---I like threesomes --OF WORDS OF WORDS).

I'll think I'll go sample the leftovers again. Too much salt and cream cheese. Wish I had something sweet.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland