2000-07-27 Thursday eve

Vacation fly by

My vacation seems to be flying by but I'm enjoying it and that is what is important. I haven't achieved all my goals for the week, I'm not even sure I've achieved any, but then, vacations should be goal-free.

I went to see the acupuncturist today and I am still floating. I floated on home and slept for three hours. After a bad night of sleep last night I needed it.

Yesterday was a more Austin day for me. I craved the Magnolia so I drug Mark along with me. He craves Threadgill's, I crave Magnolia. Nice long lunch while reading the latest Texas Monthly. After, we went to Prima Dora next door. Mark hadn't been there before and he was impressed. I got some birthday presents for friends and a beautiful spray of flowers in a great vase for only $19. What a steal! They are a little droopy today so maybe that's why they come cheap but they are beautiful---sunflowers of different colors, zinnias, cockscomb, amaranth, basil and rosemary.

Finished my "studio project." I'm calling the guest room the studio now to encourage my using it for creative purposes. Threw out another million and a half video and audio tapes. I think they breed in dark places. I must have had a new VCR in 1989. I taped all sorts of year end specials. Or maybe just because that was the first decade that had the big "end of a decade" stuff after the VCR was invented.

Once things cooled down in the evening (ha) I worked on my "front porch project." I got a good start on masking off the cement of the porch into squares and painting it to look like terrazo tiles instead of cement. I had every intention of finishing today but that was before the bad night of sleep, the acupuncture appointment and the long long nap. No plan to paint tonight, I'll get back to it tomorrow. . .maybe.

I'm about to step out to Jovita's to see the Cornell Hurd Band. Mark had forgotten that that was a "must do" on my vacation list so I don't know if I can drag him away from his projects or not. He's building the great wall of Austin out of limestone all around the house. Neighbor K might go with me. She isn't home right now but had expressed interest. I'm feeling independent enough that I can go by myself if need be.

I'm afraid Mark has also forgotten my plan to go to the Hill Country or somewhere to drive around at least one day of our vacation. Of course, I guess the vacation does go through Sunday. He said yesterday he'd rather go to Bastrop and Smithville and that was fine by me too. I haven't even been to Smithville, I've just seen it in Hope Floats.

I think the day is soon coming where I'll have to put up one of those nursing home poster boards in the bedroom for Mark (oh, who am I kidding? For me too!). The kind that says: Today is: Thurday The season is: Summer Today you will: Go to Jovita's. sigh

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland