2000-07-20 4:30 pm

Waiting

I am waiting on my slow printer to print lots of things I need to take with me to work and it is delaying my departure. It's making this typing show up on the screen much too slowly too and I hate that.

It is a hot hot day and I'd like to say I've spent it doing something Austiny but I haven't. I've been here juggling checkbooks and desperately calling people in Dallas to find someone to put money in an account up there. Financial ruin averted, thanks to a sister with a ready checkbook. Dammit, I bet she expects to be paid back too.

When we were younger and poorer and banks were much slower we made it a regular habit to "swap checks." I'd send her a check in Dallas and she'd send me a check in Amarillo. Whoever needed the money could put it into the bank first and then the other could put theirs in before long. It gave us a little bit of float time that doesn't exsist in the age of computers. That's why I was so worried about the account in Dallas today. I know how these banks clear the largest checks first and then let the smaller ones bounce. I was afraid that some very small checks I wrote around town last week might go bouncing around and costing me from $50 to $60 a pop. A disaster. I'm a terrible bookkeeper.

Mark's off to Tyler and Houston for the weekend. Their new booking agent is working on a tour for them that will take them to New York and Boston and Atlanta and Chicago. They will be gone for three weeks at the end of October and into November. What big accomplishment can I achieve while he's gone? I'll be grateful if I can keep the dogs fed through the whole time. We've gone through touring before and it is amazing how I can't get anything accomplished even when I have my whole life just to myself.

Company coming to town tomorrow and a party at my house on the weekend. It is just a party for the girls and I'm really looking forward to it. It will be fun to sit around and talk and eat and get to know some of my neighbors better and show off my house to so many that haven't been inside yet.

This printer is slower than Christmas. I think I'll let it print while I'm gone and do the next step in this long process first thing in the morning. Ha. I don't know the meaning of the words first thing in the morning.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland