Thursday, Jul. 21, 2005 10:14 am

Vacation prep

I am so ready for a day or two of vacation... But as I've said before, in my next life, I'm going to have a job where a "day off" means you have a day off! This trying to do everything you normally do when you're hear before you go sucks big time. Okay, I don't have to be on the air for two days, but I will still have to do the live commercials I would do on those days (or I don't get paid for them). I still have to do the weekend shifts I would normally do, just recorded in advance, and all the music for all the days I'm gone and beyond, and commercials that will air while I'm gone and on and on and on. I am still pretty overwhelmed with my checklist. And I have to go meet a new client today, too, so that adds to the load. That part isn't normal.

And I added another commitment to my load yesterday. I went to a weight-loss hypnosis seminar. What a crock! I guess I knew it would be before I even went, but deluded myself enough to go. And, in a way, it is a kick in the pants and some motivation to get to losing more weight (I've already lost some, so I'm on track). It's sort of like going to a bad psychic that tells you that you are a wonderful person and wonderful things are coming your way if you keep aspiring to better things. It may not be "seeing the future," but it inspires you to forge on and feel better about how things will turn out.

Trouble with almost any seminar or training session I go to: I've done this. With every joke he told or movement he made, I remembered my hundreds and hundreds of seminars where I said things over and over like "Oh... I gotta tell you what happened last week..." which may have happened last year, or may have never happened, but I liked the story, or may have happened to the woman that did the seminar before me and she used it and it always got a point across or got a laugh so I used it, too. I'm too much of an insider.

But the presenter was a good speaker and interesting and certainly had some nutrition information and weight loss advice that was valid. Now, as for hypnosis... He didn't do anything remotely resembling hypnosis until the last 30 minutes of the seminar. And it went WAY too fast to be effective. Repeat in your mind after me: "I eat healthy foods and enjoy exercise...(two second pause)... I chew my food..." WAIT A MINUTE... .I'm still repeating the first one!!! When you're mind is talking back to the moderator, it certainly isn't dropping into a deep hypnotic state. Frustrating.

The seminar was a ploy to sell supplements for a huge amount of money. There is no doubt some of these supplements would help you lose weight. I knew many of the ones he was touting and know that, if used, they will help you, but I got a glimpse of the receipt of the lady next to me that fell for his sales pitch and I know you would be better off finding these products on the internet and buying a month's worth and seeing if they work for you and if you USE them first. I may have thrown away $50, but I'm afraid some of these desperate people threw away a lot more. I hope they use it and it works for them.

As for me, I may consider some of the products, but in the meantime I am going to continue eating my fruit and protein and walking and forgoing the heavy foods and sweets. I do need to follow his advice and eat MORE. I sometimes go the whole day before I have anything beyond coffee and that's not good for me.

Tuesday was a good example. I took and apple and tuna with me to work. I hadn't eaten anything all morning. But then I got to work and they brought in a new girl to train with me while I was on the air. I didn't want to be eating while I'm training so I never got to the apple or tuna at all. I finally ate about 8 that night when I got up to an event we had going and we had some barbeque sandwiches there.

The new girl is interesting. I will write down some of my impressions of her and see how they pan out as I get to know her. She is not fresh out of college at all, but she has only been in radio three years. She makes it a point that you know she was on the MORNING show in her last job. That is a concern for me because she has never been "just a jock" in her career. I've been both and there is a big difference from being the sidekick on the morning show and having more room to talk and bring in interesting stories and such and having your own show that you have to move along and not let it get bogged down. I'm afraid she is going to be a talker.

She certainly IS a talker in person. I get very weary of people that are talkers, but never listeners. In the four hours we were together I am sure she never asked a single question about me and my background. She did ask some questions about the station and the training we were doing. I didn't really train, I just let her watch. I was too tired to train.

It was a busy afternoon besides. Along with her in there all day, I had 7 others from a Tennessee band and a charity come in to talk about a benefit and then another three from a band to talk about another benefit. I don't usually have that many people in the studio and have to talk, talk, talk, all afternoon. I came home exhausted.

One good thing I did for my career was to go to the benefit we held on Tuesday night just for support. I didn't have to be there, but I went and I got lots of brownie points with the promotions department and the saleswoman with the account.

Today I will wrap up and be off on vacation this weekend.... I am SO ready.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland