Monday, Jul. 18, 2005 10:49 am

Back to work

I just read Lileks journal and a column by Garrison Keilor. Their combined eloquence squashes any hope I have of being a writer. I just don't think that way. But then, I remind myself, I am unique for my own qualities, right? And I need to find what they are! ha

My poor Mom was in the ER last night. I feel SO FAR away when things are happening up there. My sister called as she was on her way to join them. As it turns out, it was an MSG overdose. Mom and Dad had had Chinese food at noon. A true overdose takes 4 to 8 hours to hit you... and hit her it did. Her hands were bright red and everything on her body was itching and welts were rising up. She was in agony. They even called 9-1-1. We have tried to get the folks to call 9-1-1 more often... Daddy is regularly having horrible chest pains and not being able to breath... but they wait until it passes. AUGH!! But they did call paramedics this time, but then still let them go on and let Daddy take Mom to the ER. Of course, when you don't come in in an ambulance you have to wait for help. Fortunately, it wasn't too busy last night and they got to her quickly.

She is already better this morning except for the MSG headache. The doctor said this may take a few days to completely be out of her system. Chinese food eaters beware!

I had a good weekend, but didn't get nearly enough done. I made a list on Friday of fun things I could do on Saturday while I was home alone. I had restaurants to try and movies to see and all sorts of things to do. After a bad night of sleep Friday night, it was all I could do to get UP on Saturday. I finally made myself go to the lake for a walk and then went to see Wedding Crashers. There were other movies on my list, but their times and locations ended up being more difficult to arrange so I went to the new Alamo South to check it out.

I also had a shaved ice. I never stop for one because the lines are usually long and I'm on my way somewhere. Man, I'm going to start finding a way more often! It was great. As good as the one I had in Hawaii. Better than any sno-cone ever.

I also went to a party Saturday night. It was odd. I was invited by a guy who books clubs and bands. I don't know if he is gay, but I am supposing now that he is. He gave the party with another man who is definitely gay that I hadn't met before. There were lots of radio and TV people there, so I knew some people, but there were also many many gay men. I've rarely seen so many gay men in one place at one time.

The party made me very glad I'm not single. Obviously, this wasn't a party that was very easy to meet a guy for me in the first place, ha, but I had trouble just even finding people to mingle with. I did introduce myself to one girl and her date and it turns out I had met her before so that gave a little something in common. A man I work with was there and we had planned to hook up, so we did. He knew everyone there and he introduced me to many people, but no one that I seemed to have much in common with. I was glad when I had been there long enough to make the hosts feel accomplished in their party giving skills, and then I left and came home to sew on buttons.

That is one accomplishment of the weekend. Not only did I sew on buttons on Mark's shirts, but I completely CHANGED the buttons on two shirts because he'd lost buttons I couldn't replace or also because he didn't like the buttons on one shirt anymore. It made me feel very Martha Stewart to replace them well (yes, I had to go BUY buttons, too).

Yesterday I had a remote at the boat place that went well. What I didn't do was a lot of work at home that I intended to do. I didn't bring home a backup from my work computer so I couldn't do anything. I thought I'd bet back up there and get one sometime, but never did. I'll just have to really hump it today and this week because I am off on vacation Friday through Monday.

I'm in a little bit of panic and denial about my family reunion info. I dug hard last night and can't even find the paperwork on lots of changes I had made on my family tree. I can't find a recent backup and I think I've lost a lot of info. That just makes me sick because it is likely that I won't get some of that info back. And what I get back may be given grudgingly since they already gave it to me before. Oh well... as I've said before, I didn't campaign for this job, I was shanghaied. They get what they get.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland