Friday, Jul. 20, 2012 11:48 pm

Friday Catch Up

I think the new drugs are kicking in a little. I have had a lot more energy this week. Wednesday I went for a drink at the Red Shed with the Princess and we had a really great time. That was fun enough and it was nice to have the energy for it, but then I came home at 8 p.m. and mowed the lawn! And then I changed some of the lightbulbs on the Christmas lights. The next day I stopped and bought some more bulbs and got the rest done.

Tonight, though, I was back to exhaustion again and came home and slept a couple of hours before Mark called and got mad at me for not being awake enough to talk to him before he hung up on me. Sigh.

Work had its ups and downs this week. The boss was on vacation so there was no pressure there, not that there really ever is. I got angry again at Miss Green who assigns some meetings to me, because it seems like I get ALL the meetings and she gets little or none. If she is doing any, she is sure not recording the details on the list where we record them. She's going to be gone next week and I am glad about that.

I did come to an agreement on the money to do the voice work in North Texas. I hope it gets easier. This was my first "paid" week and I did get faster, but it was still a commitment and some nights it was a pain to have to think about doing.

Then I woke up this morning to the horrible tragic news of the shooting in Aurora Colorado and I had to change a couple of tracks to acknowledge that.

I am going to go to Dallas tomorrow for my sister's and brother-in-law's birthdays. I don't have gifts or cards or anything, but I'll go see them and we'll celebrate. I really am glad to get to see my mother. And my nephew. I've missed them all a bunch since May.

At work this week a coworker who is always in the know felt like our office might be shut down within the next two years. Today she heard other things that give her more confidence that the office will be staying open and most of us will have jobs. I still need to polish my resume and start networking and make sure many many people know of me.

I was on the radio in Austin briefly this week, which was weird. Kitty Wells died and I wrote a bio piece on her for Facebook and our company blog. My friends in the morning had me on their show, but it was WAY fucking early and I did not enjoy that.

A new station has come on the air with local ownership. Maybe not my favorite person, but I'm glad a locally owned station is here. Several friends have jobs there now and I hope that works out for them, too. The signal is really bad so I haven't listened to it much.

This week I visited my favorite old listener Dorothy. She is in a retirement assisted living facility now and I dropped by. It wasn't nearly as nice as mother's, but I guess it was nice enough for what it was. She was lively and fun to talk to, at least. She never looks like I expect her to look.

I had to pay the mortgage late this week, but they were pretty nice about it. The bank didn't allow all of Mark's paycheck to be deposited immediately like they used to, there was a hold on it. I emailed the mortgage bank Monday, but they still called Thursday to say I was late. I called and talked to her and she was very nice and I saw that they even reversed the late fee, so that is very nice. Mark was able to get a check in on Thursday that covered the last bit and I got the mortgage paid. But we are broke broke broke. Hope it evens out soon.

I had a great lunch with my friend Dame J at our favorite Mexican restaurant. Talk talk talk. I wish we could work together again.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland