Thursday, Jul. 12, 2007 10:26 pm

Lady Bird's funeral

Time just keeps getting away from me. I did get up before 10 this morning, which was a miracle. I even made us breakfast early to get our metabolism going. We both have plateaued or gained, with no good reason, so maybe if we eat a little earlier, our bodies will rev up the fire. sigh. I did cheat the slightest bit last night when I had a raw biscuit. I know, raw dough, yuck, but I love it and a can of biscuits in the refrigerator exploded. I couldn't resist a little nibble when I threw it all in the trash. I hope one little biscuit (no butter! no jelly!) doesn't send me into a tailspin. I haven't weighed this morning. I'm hoping the biscuit will just swell up and push everything else all the way through. Disgusting, I know.

I have been watching Mrs. Johnson's first funeral at the Wildflower Center. What an amazing woman. I have so much respect for her and appreciate the words that have been written about her. I call myself a writer, but I am so lacking in words. Maybe I just don't take the time. But I am very sad over her death. I think it hits harder than Daddy or Mamma because I didn't see her sick and ill and failing. It is a lot easier to let someone go from this life when you see that they have no life.

Funny email from a co-worker that resigned and is leaving today. He was a sports producer and very quiet, so I really don't feel like I know him at all, but his email is hilarious. He has a great way with words. I think there was rebuke for the email though because HR immediately sent out an email reminding us that this is a corporate email system, blah blah.

I spent a lot of time last night going through my CDs at home and organizing them so I can find what I need. I gathered up a lot that I am taking back to work because I do NOT need them here. I need to go through the work CDs and bring home the ones that are mine. It makes me nervous to have so much of my collection up there.

I finally had a short chat with the boss yesterday. I am clueless as to what he wants nights to be. Laser was telling me more Texas more local, but the boss says more mainstream, more outlaw. And his terms are hard to get a grasp on. We also did music. I don't know why he agrees to do music just as I'm about to go on the air and we haven't had a meeting in two months and he expects me to have my suggestions ready to go. I guess I need to be prepared every single day. We did get some good changes in, at least, and things will be fresher for a while. Thank goodness. This made me shake my head, though. He was looking over my shoulder at our list of the A category and he said, "And what do we have in the Texas category?" Uh, boss, we don't HAVE a Texas category. I know he has a LOT to handle, but if he can't keep it clear what we do and don't play, I think he needs to hire a PD or let me have more control. I guess I have the control to remind him what we don't play.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland