Saturday, Jul. 14, 2007 12:05 pm

Lady Bird

Mark has left for Gruene and then on to the Valley for a show. I have so much I need to get accomplished. My older nephew and his girlfriend are coming to visit us on Monday to see Mark play again. I'm looking forward to it. We have some warning this time, so I have a chance to clean up the house.... and since it is a GIRL coming, and not someone that has known me their whole life, there is some cleaning to be done. I hope she doesn't mind cats. The first question my mother asked when I said they were coming is, "Will they be sleeping together?" She said it in a teasing way, but I know she was curious. I feel quite sure that they are sleeping together and I don't have a problem with it. It's just NOT letting my sister know that they might sleep together at my house! I'm sure she would completely disapprove.

I had a moving experience last night. I went to pay my respects to Lady Bird Johnson at the LBJ Library. I forget what a beautiful place that is. I was through with work by about 9 p.m. I read online that the line to see her was not very long at about 7 so I thought I might not have to wait too long. But when I arrived, the parking lot was full and people were streaming toward the library. I parked and saw that the Tower was lit in orange. Beautiful. Sad. Then the big fountain was on full blast and so pretty and there were people down by it with candles, having a vigil. The line was long, but moving quickly. It came all the way to the front doors of the building, but I know earlier in the day it had been around the building. We filed through the museum, past exhibits of their lives and life in the 60s, and then up the big staircase to her casket. The most beautiful embroidered pall was across it. So feminine. I said my final goodbye to her and filed down and out and home. I'm glad I went. I thought the funeral today was at 11 a.m. so I was up, but it looks like it is at 2 p.m. instead. I guess I was thinking of the end of the viewing, not the funeral. So now I need to get busy and fill the time until the funeral.

It is raining! I just checked the radar and thought it was all moving off to the north and east, but it is coming down good now. Just what we need. I hope to mow the lawn tomorrow. I hope it is dry enough to do that.

I did watch the service for Lady Bird yesterday at the Wildflower Center. It was more religious and formal, but beautiful. I've learned a lot about her life in the last few days that I didn't know... even though I've read books about her and studied her before. I will have to go back and re-read those books now to see if I just missed that the first time around.

My friend Scotty's wedding is tonight in San Antonio. I don't want to forget to get dressed and go! I hope I have hose. Maybe that is the first thing I need to look at today.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland