Sunday, Jan. 28, 2007 12:15 pm

Split Pea Soup on the menu

Easy Sunday so far. I've got split pea soup in the crock pot. I've never made it before and I hope it is good. It smells good. The ham hocks were gross and I wonder if they will make it too greasy, or if that is a good thing. Mark asked if I had to split each pea individually. I said, yes, it is a difficult and time consuming process.

Last night I worked on logs while I watched TV so at least I was somewhat productive. I really need to write some thank you notes, as well, but I keep putting it off. I MUST get them done and into the box by tomorrow.

Tomorrow is my dental appointment. I am glad to get started on this process. I dread it and want it done all at the same time. I am prepared at work (mostly) to be sick if I need to. I would still have to get Bob to do Virginia and get the Tuesday logs up there somehow, or I could run up and do a few things. We'll see how I feel.

My remote yesterday was not the best. The day was beautiful and I was optimistic. I left early to get all the way out to Lake Travis and I got there 15 minutes before we were to begin. My crew wasn't there! They should have already been there for 45 minutes and they were no where in sight. I called. Winston said "We're on our way." I said "Where are you?" Uh, we're half way there. "Where ARE you?" Uh, we're on Southwestern Parkway. Well, that is far from half way there. They pulled in 20 minutes after we were to have started. By this time, their boss had already been alerted (by the saleswoman) and was apologetic and pissed, too. They will get it Monday. I have no idea why they were that late. I think they expect to get to the station and be able to just drive away, and then any little problem immediately caused them trouble.

So I had already done one break over the phone and then we got the other three in the can and done. People were nice and I met a lot of listeners and a musician's mom and more, so it was good overall and I hope the client was happy. I was sure happy to drive away.

While I was there I saw the owners of the boat store I usually work with. I ran into their daughter, too, and she said her mom was at the flower store. I stopped by there to visit with her and she had pizza so we had a great lunch and a great visit. I would like to be better friends with her, but our lifestyles probably don't mesh enough to see too much of each other. But it was nice to see her and visit. I heard all about their future son-in-law.... Pakistani, Muslim, super-rich New Yorker. I see a lot of red flags in that relationship, but I haven't met him. Since he did go to school here, maybe he knows how Texans are. I advised the daughter to find out who his role-models for marriage were. She said his parents don't have a great marriage. I knew Mark would be a good husband because he had seen his grandparent's marriage, and I was right!

No football today, which leaves me at loose ends. I have so many projects. Why can I not just DO them?

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland