Monday, Jan. 29, 2007 1:29 pm

Dental work begins

I am feeling productive this morning. After putting off writing thank you notes the whole damn weekend, I finally got three written today. And I got the check from the intern ready to send to the church in Dad's memory. Good for me. See, Pecan, it ISN'T that hard!

Yesterday I spent the day in the yard. It was cool, but sunny and a good day to get that done. I trimmed back everything that was dead and racked some leaves and got everything set out by the curb. Good for me. Still haven't washed the car and that is on my list. It is driving a little funky this morning and I need to get it checked into.

I started the dental work and I am feeling my face again now. I bit my tongue during the process and I'm feeling that too, unfortunately. But I know have a temporary crown and two new fillings and a few more hundreds of dollars in debt. But this should be paid back from my spending account soon. The dental work didn't take too long. There is too much noise in their office, though. The radio is on and the TV is on, but muted, and then, of course, the doctor and assistant are talking. I put my iPod on Van Morrison and tried to not think about it all. I did think about how Daddy had this much uncomfortableness for weeks. It is bad enough to not be able to swallow or talk or breath hardly and have pain in your jaw for an hour or so, it broke my heart to think about how much he suffered in those last three weeks.

Mark scared me this morning at 515. He sat up gasping and clutching his chest. I was certain he was having a heart attack, but he says that his nose was stopped up and then phlegm got caught in his throat and he just couldn't breathe. Frightening. I told him today that I want us to do something together that will improve our health. I don't want him to die of a heart attack and have people say "Well, he was overweight and drank and never did a thing to improve his health." He kind of poo-pooed me and pointed out how many people do take care of their health and still die. Not really a good argument, I'd say. I know he gets a lot of weight bearing exercise on the job and is on his feet so much, but he needs some aerobic exercise in there somewhere, too. (Kettle, you're black!)

So now I need to go get dressed and eat something and get to work. I figure the dental work gives me a little extra time. They are lucky I'm going in at all is the way I see it.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland