Sunday, Jan. 29, 2006 9:21 am

Gigged

I re-read yesterday's entry and I wrote "without whom I couldn't do without." I'm sure that is completely wrong. Maybe I should have just written "I need him." That makes more sense (but sounds "needy").

I ended up letting an unemployed person buy my dinner and the dinner I promised to buy Cotton last night. That just isn't right! I did call Cotton and make him get out of the house and join us. He was broke and said I would have to buy his dinner. I said I would. Then we ate and visited and then one of the Geezer's guys came and said that they'd been asking for me from the stage so I rushed to play and then realized I hadn't paid for dinner. I came right back but El had beaten me to it.

But I did get to get right up and play and that was fun and I did better then I ever have before. I played a lot less, too. Made it more simple, especially the solo....nothing fancy and no missed notes that way. I didn't stay past the break. My eyes were burning, Mark was home, and I have an early remote today.

I woke up to a dream this morning that won't go away. I was at my sister's (where I will be tomorrow) and I had to go to this remote that I have today. In the dream the remote was like in Plano, on the other side of the Metroplex from my sister's. I left her house with someone I don't know and we stopped for breakfast with a couple (maybe a mother and son?) at a busy breakfast place. We'd been there ten minutes and realized we hadn't even been offered coffee yet. I had about 10 minutes to be to the remote so I said we couldn't wait, that we needed to go on. Then I was back at my sister's again, trying to leave once more for the remote. Her house was our old house on the farm. It was dark and everything was muddy. I went to my car to get some stuff and my car was just covered in clumps of mud and there was tracked in mud inside of it, too. It was a mess. I was reaching around and couldn't find my purse. I had my wallet, but not my purse. When he heard that, my younger nephew was trying to give me money to help me out, which was very sweet. Someone pulled up in a big pickup that I was going to drive (with some of my family with me) to the remote. I was still panicking at being late and not knowing where I was going. I didn't know if I needed to go south to get to LBJ and go east on it, or if there was a newer, better route to the north to cross over to Plano on. I was calling over to my engineer at the remote trying to get information from him, but he was droning on about some other problem while I was trying to ask which way to go. When I finally did, he didn't have a clue. My sister felt like LBJ was the better route and I think we finally ended up heading that way. I don't know if I made it to the remote on time or not, but I woke up still trying to figure it out.

Interpretations? Well, some just plain anxiety wanting to make sure I got up and didn't forget this remote today (and, true, I'm not real sure where it is). Lots of confusion over Cotton's situation there, too, I am feeling his anxiety of "where to go next" and how to get there and know that his situation will affect mine, too, and wondering where that will take me. My car definitely needs cleaning out today before I go to Dallas tomorrow, but I think that image might have been more about me. I've been eating nothing but crap for days and my body needs a thorough cleaning out. Money anxiety in there a little, too. I'm sure I'll see and think of even more as I ponder it today and come back to it written down later.

Today would have been my grandfather's 98th birthday. He died in 1973. I have a lot of memories of him, but nothing particularly loving or grandfatherly, but nothing really bad either. Okay, except for him pouring water in our faces to wake up up when we stayed at their house once. That was just cruel. He did let me smoke cigarettes with him. He would give us Juicy Fruit or Doublemint gum when he got in from a trip (he was a truck driver) and I think he would draw bunnies with pen on our palms. I don't really know why, but that was sort of a treat.

Today I have this remote and I have to get packed and ready to leave tomorrow for the seminar in Dallas. The awards are going on at MR tonight, too, and I know I should go, but I don't want to. Mark will be out of the house tonight at a gig, too, so I probably will go and put in an appearance to be nice.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland