Saturday, Jan. 28, 2006 11:25 am

Rain Finally

Rain, glorious rain. It is a wonderful thing to wake up to. I wish Mark didn't have to get up and rush out. He had to go to Gruene to play. But I'm home alone and enjoying the silence and the moisture!

What a day yesterday. My co-worker Cotton, who I complain about incessantly, but without whom I couldn't do without, quit! Just up and got mad and quit yesterday! Right now I don't know how in the world it is going to work out either. It is just too weird to think about. He got mad at the morning man and they had a shouting match and he just said "Fuck you" and went to talk to the bosses. It's one of those things that the morning man will certainly not be disciplined or "in trouble" because of it and I don't think Cotton could go back to doing that job.

So now what happens? If it sticks (God, I hope it doesn't), then they will replace Cotton with someone that will just do that part of his job taking care of the morning team. That leaves a WHOLE LOT of other things that he usually does. I have a great fear that they will just expect me to assume those duties. I will have to be strong and not accept that. When I took this job, it was a scaled down version of what the guy before me did because I did not want all of that responsibility. So the job itself was split between me and Cotton and, it was my understanding, I didn't get as much salary because of that split. That was fine with me since I didn't have the big job. Now I don't want to have to have that big job and still keep the same lower salary.

One reason I think that this may "stick" is that an email inviting us to a celebration of the ratings came out yesterday. Cotton's name was not on the header of that email. Hmmmmm....

I had lunch yesterday with the co-worker that got laid off in December. I feel sorry for her and her position because she got laid off so they could change the format of her station. The station wasn't performing. But, the deal is, it was. She and the station met their goals in this ratings (that came out this week... a month after she was laid off). She is even going to get a bonus because of meeting those goals, even though she no longer has a job. That is radio. Sadly.

Last night I went to the CD release of a co-worker. Pretty lame. I feel sorry for him. He is talented, but just average-ly talented (can you be average-ly talented?). If he were on American Idol, Simon wouldn't say "That was the WORST voice I've ever heard...", it would just be, "No, sorry, boring, average." I went from there to hear the Seth Walker Band at Jovita's and that was fun and I enjoyed myself there. That is a fun place to watch music (and eat nachos!).

Today I am really really going to work at cleaning the house. Let's say I'm doing in prep for the Chinese New Year. I'm not, but I need some incentive. Tonight I'm playing at the Spoke, so I need to break out the box and practice a little bit, too. Cotton is probably going to meet me there for dinner.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland