Monday, Jan. 30, 2006 8:44 am

Waiting to Pack

My plans for today are already going awry. Mark has a Monday morning meeting each week at 9 a.m. so I planned to be up and packed early and leave for Dallas about the time he leaves for his meeting. But he got caught up in a backline-gig-from-hell last night and the rap group using their bass amp didn't stop until 315 a.m. So Mark came home and went to bed at almost 5 a.m. and said, Screw the meeting, I'll go in when I feel like going in. So he is dead asleep and I hate to disturb him by packing. I knew I should have packed yesterday! My procrastination didn't help me. But then, I would hate to be all packed and have to wake him to say goodbye, too. I'll give him a little more time and then I'll start rattling around in there.

I went to the awards last night. It was more fun than I anticipated. I had a remote yesterday and the saleswoman was planning on going to the awards and was all excited, saying, "I've never been, I can't wait!" I dampened her enthusiasm (just call me Debbie Downer) and told her it isn't that fun. But, when I got there last night (after making myself get dressed and ready to go) it wasn't so bad. Of course, in past years I've gone to work there and broadcast and that makes it even harder. This was just talking and drinking and music and no obligations, really.

I had decided to pack it in about 10, though, and was a few blocks away when the emcee, my co-worker/traffic reporter, called and said "You've got to come back! We get the station of the year and I want you to accept the award." Well, that was worth going back for, so I came back and hate to wait about 45 minutes for the award. Then, award in hand, one of my favorite bands asked me on their bus to listen to their new CD. It was very very good. He was really cute in his enthusiasm and eagerness to see what I thought. I was also pleased that the song I liked best was one he had written and not the one song on the album that was written by another songwriter from Nashville.

Finally the whole event was over and I got to come home. Of course, at that point I didn't want to pack, but I did jump on myspace and ask a bunch of the people I talked to last night to be my friends.

So, now I'll wait a bit and start rattling around and then I'm off to this seminar and Dallas. I hope it is a really really cool deal.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland