2000-01-30 02:10:17

Movies

A shortie tonight I expect. Should have done this this morning when I was up early, enjoying coffee and had the quiet house (with freezing temperatures outside!) to myself. Now it is almost bedtime and below freezing again! What is it with this Austin weather?

It was a beautiful day though, in the 40s and the sun was shining and really no need for a coat. I walked of the house to go to lunch and checked over all the plants in my big front flower bed (the one that stands a chance since the dogs can't get to it). The slight freeze didn't seem to have affected anything at all and then I found the bloom of a coreopsis hiding among the greenery. What fun! I don't associate coreopsis with spring. Bluebonnets are the ultimate spring flower for me. One year I had them in my own yard that had stayed green all winter long (despite freezes) and the first bloom was February 1. Those bluebonnets bloomed into May, it was an incredible year. I can't wait for my first glimpse of a bluebonnet in Austin. I'm sure it will be within the next month.

I worked a long time this evening on some voice recognition software I bought a while back. I had put it away out of frustration but today I got it working pretty well. I think it would work much better if I double my RAM. I only have 32 meg and I think 64 would work lots better. Don't know if or when I'll get around to doing something like that but I liked "speaking" a letter even though I could have typed ten letters in the time it took this time.

We watched some of Slacker last night. We'd seen it before and not liked it but I enjoyed it more this time knowing that there wouldn't be a plot. I still didn't recognize most of the Austin shots because they were up by the University and maybe the east side. I did see a woman (the really really crazy one in the diner) that I believe I've seen at the Alamo Drafthouse.

Speaking of movies, the Ain't It Cool guy is on with Roger Ebert on TV right now. I don't get into his sight much. I don't pay much attention to movies anymore. . .sadly. I miss them! I saw that Peeping Tom is showing at the Dobie for one week only and I about had a conniption (is that how you spell that?). I didn't know it had ever been released or ever would be. Got to catch it.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland