January 28, 2002 9:31 pm

West Texas photos

I've been sorting and scanning a lot of old photos tonight in preparation for my parents 50th wedding anniversary on March 1. As I went through all the old black and white ones from my childhood in the Panhandle it seemed that my parents were not able to hold a camera straight. They took a clear enough picture, no blurriness, but the subject was always a little off plumb. I got to thinking about it and decided maybe it was just because we always had to lean into the wind there.

I got quite frustrated with Sprint PCS today. And I'm not even a Sprint PCS customer! They have been calling my cell phone and I'll get the message to call a toll-free number for Sprint PCS. Well, I've ignored it because I thought they were trying to sell me something. Finally I called it to discover they think my bill is overdue. I don't have a bill from them as I AM NOT A CUSTOMER. To make matters worse, their unending voice mail system won't let you cut through to a person. Some systems will send you to a real person if you dial zero. Not this one. On and on it kept asking for my phone number. But if I put in MY phone number it said it wasn't a valid Sprint customer Duh, that's what I'm trying to TELL you. And if I waited and didn't enter anything it would ask me again and again and AGAIN for the number. Finally I'm put on a long hold and finally I get to speak to a person. He's a nice enough guy but he doesn't have my phone number in the system (which makes perfect sense since I am NOT a customer). But since he cannot find my number in his system, he can't make their mega-machine quit calling it. He does tell me that when the mega-machine calls, if I do answer there will be a person on the other end that can correct the problem. I was afraid I would just hear the same recording telling me to call a toll-free number. So I kept the cell phone close tonight and did get another call and was able to answer it. She grilled me pretty hard, certain that I was the owner or associated with the Circle C development. I hope I convinced her. We've had this cell number for almost three years so it's not like we just got the number that had belonged to some deadbeat. I hate telephone machines.

I went to my therapist today but I think I will cancel the next appointment. He's a little too "motivational speaker" for me. I want deep psychoanalysis to tell me why I'm so deeply scarred and troubled, not someone to tell me to act confident and you'll BE confident. I don't feel like I can really tell him my deepest worries and troubles because he only glosses over them with stories and suggestions. I need someone to make me come up with the answers and see the way through on my own. Oh, well, the drugs have been doing their job so I'm mostly okay these days. I'd be much better if I got more sleep.

Aggravated at my sweet husband a little because he doesn't take care of the animals enough. I guess I'm just going to have to make sure that I do it unfailingly. Poor dogs were hungry last night and I gave them a half a bowl of food--all that was left. Today I asked Mark to get some dog food while he was out. He did do that. But he just let the bag sit in the kitchen. Tonight I realized that the poor dogs were hungry and still needed to be fed and they were almost out of fresh water. I took care of them and then saw that the kitty dish in the kitchen didn't have any water and very little food.

I'm reading a very good book: Sacred Contracts by Caroline Myss. It's about finding your purpose in your life. Haven't found mine yet (and she doesn't promise that I will by the time I finish the book) but she has some fascinating stories. I think I'll go read it now.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland