January 27, 2002 5:09 pm

Pie and bluebonnets

I'm a great pie maker. I'm making my first of the year right now. I'm in the dough-chillin' stage right now so I have a minute. Mine are never pretty enough to take to a church social or sell but they sure taste good. I've gotten a lot better at the looks, though. Now that I've finally learned the secrets of rolling out the dough they look lots better.

I spent a lot of the afternoon in the yard and garden cleaning things up and getting rid of weeds and trimming back the dead pieces. Beautiful day to be outside. I found another volunteer bluebonnet and that made me happy. I planted four bluebonnets, too, and a hollyhock. Lots of poppies and bulbs coming up. . . even tulips from last year. They are unlikely to bloom, but you never know.

I'm doing some painting experiments today, inspired by our friend Gary who was here over the weekend. He had some beautiful painted rocks that he'd done. My work today has been pretty sloppy but fun to do and that is really the point, I suppose.

I'm watching/listening/have on the football games today. Don't really care who wins and who goes to the Super Bowl so I just sort of root for the underdog.

Mark's playing a gig at the lake this afternoon. It is a good day for it.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland