Friday, Jan. 18, 2008 12:49 pm

Catch up as usual

I have gotten bad about not writing here every day. I get busy writing in the other blog and forget about this one for the "personal" stuff. Not that there has been much to get too personal about.

The George Strait show last week was a lot of fun. We were sitting with JM's family (his brother David and wife Crystal) and Tito from the vodka people. The show was really good. Mark saw things I didn't see and it was fun to discuss it all afterwards.

Mark has gone now to California for the NAMM convention. It was bright and sunny there today when he called and woke me up. I'm glad he woke me up, it was already late morning.

I couldn't sleep last night. I had a chai tea about 7 and that must have screwed me up because I was sleepy, but I couldn't sleep. I was freezing, too. It is very cold (about 35 or 40, and colder last night obviously) and I couldn't get warm. I put on socks and turned up the radiator. I finally got up and ate some toast and drank milk and tried to get sleepy. It eventually worked.

I talked a long while to my sister in Brussels today. It sounded like they were having a good time, but she sounded glad to talk to me, too. I know it gets old being around everyone that speaks so differently and so much in a foreign language. She was really enjoying her niece and nephew there.

I was going to clean the house good today, especially because my friend Denise was possibly coming by tonight. But now she canceled and I'm happy and I am going to forget about cleaning, or at least postpone it a while longer. I just am not capable of going out more than one night a week, I guess. Or two. I went out Monday and Wednesday and Thursday and I am beat. I hardly drank last night, but I was already beat, I guess.

I wrote about it on the other site, but MM's dog died Wednesday night. She started a new music series and I was there for it and we had a great time with Doug and Matt (and Amanda--- I just don't know if I like that girl or not). Afterward, we went to breakfast at Kerbey Lane. I came home and put on my flannel pajamas and washed my face and was all ready for bed and MM called. She had come home to find her bulldog Casey dead. So sad! Casey had cancer, but it was still a shock, of course. So I headed her way and called Mark on the way and then realized I had left the cats on the porch and the door unlocked. So I turned around and came home and called 311 on the way. He was very helpful about what to do with a dead dog. You can just put it in a box by the street and call the city for pickup. So I checked the garage and found a big box and took it, just in case. A million scenarios were going through my head. I didn't know what MM's (and her boyfriend, since it was his dog really) would want to do with the dog. But I went up and saw the poor dog on the floor with a blanket on him. She was so sad and distraught. We hugged and cried a lot. She had pulled out a big storage bin thing, but it wasn't really big enough, she decided, so she was super surprised and grateful that I had a box. We put him in it with his bed and some other special objects and got him out to the balcony. Her boyfriend comes home tomorrow and they plan on burying him in the backyard at his house. Fortunately, her vet's office has a morgue and they even came and picked him up to hold him until the "daddy" gets home. So sad. I just can't imagine losing one of my pets. Of course, we went through it with the dogs, but that would be very different from the kitties.

I have done a LOT of genealogy this week, it seems. I started posting the Rufus Pitt information on findagrave and the very act of having to gather my info on him led to more and more discoveries. When we visited his grave I saw a "Morrow" grave nearby and it wasn't until later that I realized that that was their daughter and her husband and I was kicking myself for not getting more info. This week I realized that I could look it up on a site for that cemetery (since findagrave doesn't have any of these) and I found their graves and pictures and another sister and her husband and pictures. Then I wrote to the woman that had compiled all of this and she even sent me a couple of pages of death registry information that is fabulous. THEN, the coolest thing (to me) was I was looking through a huge list of tiny print of all of the graves in the whole county and my eye was caught by the grave of a baby. It was the baby that my great-grandfather is rumored to have "disposed" of. It made me happy to know where she is buried. Her cemetery is different from her grandparents' (and parents') cemeteries, so this gives me a better idea of where they lived at the time, too.

I think I must go take a nap.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland