Thursday, Jan. 24, 2008 12:19 p.m.

Crazy Cat Dream

One reason I have to write in this diary is my strange dreams. They don't fit on the other blog and no one cares about one's dreams except "one's own self." So I will put it here!

This dream woke me up! I dreamed that I was visiting my sister's house. It was a nice ranch-style house with a big pool in the back and I had the kitties with me. She and I were sunning and talking and she stretched really far with her hands over her head. Then my kitty Willie did the exact same thing (that's a move he does whenever you walk into the room and he wants his tummy rubbed). I said, "Oh, look, Willie is imitating you! You're imitating her aren't you Willie?" and he looked at me and said "Yeth." I was freaked out! I had a talking cat! My mind was clicking through all of the implications of a talking cat (what if your cat started talking and you didn't like what he said?). I'm freaking out and I said, "He's a talking cat. Can you talk Willie?" and he said, "Yeth I can" matter-of-factly.

Funny how things can change so quickly in a dream. Now I'm forgetting that he talks. My sister's husband comes out of the house in a bathrobe and he is going to go swimming. There is another guy that has wandered in, too. The pool is there, but it is also a living room floor and there is some clutter in the middle of it. I look down in the clutter and see KITTENS. There were a dozen or more wriggling newborn kittens. Half of them are gray, half of them are yellow. I'm looking around, knowing that these kittens had to come from one of my two cats and I am ready to SUE a veterinarian that fixed both of my MALE cats. I see Nathan and realize then that Willie is the big fat cat and has looked alarmingly like his pregnant mother for a while. How could we not have seen that he was a she and was pregnant! Meanwhile, my sister thinks the kittens are gross and is freaking out and I am searching for a phone to call my husband to GET OVER HERE and help me with these kittens. The phone was in my hand, by the way.

THE END --- That was when I woke up. The talking cat part was cool, but the kittens, NO! Maybe that is how I feel about responsibility and I don't want it!

Last night, my friend MM's music show was a disaster. She really ate the costs of this one and the band made no money either. They didn't know they had a gig! They hadn't posted it on their website at all and they didn't do a promised e-mail blast to their fans. They would normally have a good crowd, but there was NO ONE to see them that wasn't there for another reason (security, drink servers, ticket taker, me). Two people came when one of the guys that learned he was going to open since there was no band called his friends. So he had maybe 10 or 12 people in his audience (including the main band, who did who up once they learned they had a gig) and then the main band may have played for six. Dismal! Great show though, they didn't shirk their playing (can you shirk play?).

Yesterday I did typing for my favorite shrink and got a bad headache from it - all the concentrating. I also went to WIMPS for lunch at Threadgill's. Networking. I got a big laugh when I introduced myself as "a recovering disc jockey." The doctor's office is going to try to set me up where I can type from home. That will be super cool! I hope that works out and I can type at least 10 or 20 hours a week for them whenever I feel like it!

Today I'm going to the hospital to talk to a woman about the jobs there. I don't want to work the one shift they have open right now: 10 pm to 6 am. I think that would kill me and my life. I might have to take it in three months if things get desperate, but not yet, but I'm going to so see her and see what the jobs there entail. Maybe she is over transcription, too, and I can get a foot in the door by knowing her.

My highlight of my week was calling my grandfather's 90-year-old cousin and having a great phone conversation with her. I think I will drive up next week and meet her. She was super sharp and cool and has lots of info I don't know. And she is so distantly related, and so old, she has lots to tell me! Her grandparents were my GREAT-GREAT grandparents and I have one picture of them. She says he was red-headed and Irish. I had no idea! This cousin is also related to me twice. Her mother and my great-grandmother were sisters, but their husbands were also cousins. I want to do some research and have some questions and get a recorder (hopefully, video, too) and then head to Winters, Texas to meet her next week. Next week is Daddy's birthday, too, and I think this would make him very happy. My way of honoring him. My grandfather, his dad, would have been 100 this week, too. My mother said "Daddy will always be 78 and I'm getting older." It's sad and true, Daddy is now frozen in time. Just like his Dad will always be 65, I can't imagine him in his 90s or celebrating 100.

So today I'll go talk to that woman and I will do some work on our finances to see where we stand. Mark gets a paycheck tomorrow so I'll go to the bank then, I guess. I also hope to do some more school work, but I hit an impasse this week and emailed the teacher and haven't heard back from her! Hello? An online class and the teacher doesn't answer her email. That is unacceptable!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland