2000-01-12 00:47:07

Post-Op

Yesterday I had hoped to have plenty of time to write here and clean the desk and write Christmas cards while D-boy slept after the surgery. No such luck. I came home and crashed harder than he did. The surgery and recovery took most of the day. We weren't home until after 2. I dropped his pain medication prescription off at Walgreen's on the way home. When I woke up from my nap it was well past his dosage time and he was suffering. I felt so bad! I ran and got the prescription and some orange juice and bread. He had no appetite or taste. I, on the other hand, felt the need to eat any and all comfort foods to make him feel better. I resisted the desire to buy cinnamon rolls and cookie dough and chocolate Kisses. I did buy some Pecan Sandies because they are his favorite cookie. And I only ate two. Or four.

It was nice to be home in the evening and not have to work. I managed to get a bunch of the Christmas cards written but not much else except some good sleep.

A nice surprise today when I got to work. I got a raise. Really a nice surprise because I have been quite happy with my salary. Of course, I really would like to have a raise and know that no one else got one, but that is just my insecurity and need to be approved above all others.

Today, D-boy had the stuffing taken out of his nose from the surgery. He said it was horrible and painful. I'm glad I wasn't present for that. He's breathing a little now and feeling slightly better than last night.

Update on the other sick people in my world: Papa H. is out of the hospital and back at the nursing home and apparently doing well after his surgery. D-boy's Granddad has seemed a little more responsive this week than before. I haven't talked to my grandmother since before New Year's and that makes me always feel guilty. She has such trouble dialing the phone that I really have to be the one to call her. Tomorrow. I will. I promise.

I'm glad some people still have their Christmas lights glowing. Ours are still up but not on. It is so festive to see them as I drive home. I think I'm doing pretty well in not "missing" Christmas. It went by so quickly and I never really felt in the spirit of it and I was afraid that I would feel the effect of missing it in January but so far all is well. I'm glad it is January and I'm ready to get started on a new year. And I hope it is a better year.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland