2000-01-14 01:50:42

Sick husband

Last night as I drove home the moon's crescent was looming in the southeastern sky. I wanted to write about it and was looking for the perfect metaphor. "The moon hung like the nail of an old man torn from his thumb and tossed onto the dark bathroom carpet..." It only depressed me that I couldn't come up with a pretty metaphor that really described how delicate and unique it was. Something about a Chinese finger bowl or something. Oh, well, I'll wait a month and see what the crescent looks like next time around.

I didn't even look to see when and what I wrote last. This has been a hard week. Mark (yes! that's his name! D-boy was getting really old) is asleep, or half asleep, on the couch. He had nose surgery Monday, had the stuffing removed Tuesday, felt like shit Wednesday and somewhere in there took on the flu on top of the invasion of his nose. I took him to the nose doctor today who gave him an antibiotic prescription to make sure he doesn't get a bacterial infection on top of everything else but he thought the nose was healing nicely. I've rarely seen Mark this sick. He's been in and out of sleep for days now. I'd be a terrible caretaker or mother. He was up and down through the night last night and I never even knew.

A friend from Dallas was going to come down tomorrow and I was really looking forward to her visit. She hasn't been here since we moved to Austin. She was the realtor that sold our house in Dallas on the first day on the market for an outrageous amount of money. I called her today to wave her off and tell her we couldn't have company this weekend. I think she was relieved in some ways too. Trips are sure fun but they also take a toll.

My vacation for next week is taking its toll on me. I work on eight different radio stations in the country. This week I've been writing instructions to the eight people who will replace me next week. It is a big chore. I should have started this step ages ago.

Since I didn't write yesterday I didn't write about JambaJuice! It's a new place that opened next to Starbucks in my office building. Man, what wonderful smoothies they have. It pains me to pay $3 for a cup of coffee but $4 for a smoothie that has ginko biloba and ginseng in it sounds like a deal! I had a cranberry something last night and I immediately wanted another one. Delicious. They also have soups that I will have to try. Maybe I should get their brochure on calorie counts before I go nuts.

I went to the gym yesterday and I am sore today. I must have hit the right levels because I hadn't been sore before. I hope I can go back in the morning. I may have to start making a list of the reasons I don't go so I can remember what flimsy excuses I had. When I look back and haven't gone in a whole week I can't remember why.

I'd better check on the dogs. With "dad" sick they are more neglected than usual.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland