Tuesday, Feb. 06, 2007 10:19 am

Disappointments

I hope I can get an entry written and have it upload. I don't know what is up with my computer, but it won't connect to the wired networks. I guess I'll ask the IT guy at work if he can help. I'm still operating wireless here at home. I tried it on the other "wire" last night and that didn't work either. I still need to try Mark's computer in here, just to double-check.

Cranky this morning. Just heard from the guy in Tulsa... the one who LOVED me last week and was all ready to hire me. Today I'm not as good as he wants (really, he said that!) so I don't have to hold fast to my demand for big money, there is no money. Shoot, and I was ready to cave already. He probably knew I was worth too much and he couldn't afford me.

I did do my affirmations of being a money magnet on Sunday and expected money to come my way Monday and, sure enough (as my grandfather would say), I got a $100 spot yesterday. Hooray for me! And more on the way, I hope.

I did have to have a huge row with the boss yesterday, though, and I would rather have not had that. I had turned in a vacation request form for Memorial Day and for the day after. Memorial Day is a company holiday, so just one day of vacation. My nephew is graduating from high school and I WILL be there. He turns it back to me with "let's discuss" written on it. He had had this thing a month, I don't know why he is just now getting to it. He again said that this is a very important book and every day is important, wha wha wha. I said I knew all of that, but this is an event I cannot miss. He was going to have to talk to the big boss and HR and see about this, blah. Then he said, But I see you want TWO days off. I said, well, one is the holiday, so that is, well, a HOLIDAY. NO! There is no such thing as a holiday during a book. We can't have that! We go round and round and he was really angry. I said "I let you talk me out of that day in the fall book" and he said "YOU didn't LET..." I didn't use any of my negotiating techniques that I learned at that seminar last year. Of course, I couldn't think of any technique except digging in my heels. I wanted to say "Listen, schedule me. I'll say I'll work. I'll call in sick... wouldn't you rather KNOW that I'll be out?" Finally, somehow he didn't need to "check" with bosses or HR anymore, he said I could voicetrack the Memorial Day shift and be off on Tuesday. I offered to voicetrack the Tuesday, too, but he waved that off as if it was impossible. He is so weird. I'm sorry. Ratings are important, but family is more important and ONE FUCKING DAY out of three months is not going to sink this ship. If it is, something is wrong with the station as a whole.

I went to lunch yesterday with Joey at Polvos and that was nice. Sunny, but a little chilly. The breakfast tacos were good. He also went last night to the east side with another friend, so I saw him again. I went downtown to see Doug and Matt, too, and that was a great show. Glad it ended at 11 so I could scoot on over to see Mark. Hash Brown showed up, too, and that was an extra special treat.

The sense of doom is hanging over my head again today. I will take some herbs for that. Lots to be done at work today, too. He changed all the music and I haven't done logs. We're playing a lot of crappy songs now (I have hardly even seen what is in there, but there are artists and songs I know I don't like). It is all in preparation for a music test. Sometimes I wish he'd do something that didn't have a number alongside of it. Guts should stand for something. I think this is going to herald more of a demise of the Texas artists.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland