2000-02-06 Sunday noon 13:03:09

Saturday in Austin

I'm going to just rapidly write what I can while the hubby is cooking. Okay, he's not cooking yet, he's gone to Burger King to get lunch for us. As long as I'm not cooking I consider it him cooking.

He's being a writer today and working on an article for a drumming magazine about one of his heroes. I know how absorbed he can be in a topic and expect that he will be on the computer for the rest of the day. I'll have to entertain myself elsewhere. Maybe this will force me to write those handwritten letters I've been putting off since Christmas. Yes, the thank you notes and others. E-mail has spoiled me and ruined me.

Had a great Austin Saturday night. Went with Mark as he played with a new band, a woman named Brigette London, at the Saxon Pub. She was really good and the guitar player, Pete Mitchell, was a genius. He was a Texas Troubador with Ernest Tubb for years and has also recorded with Merle Haggard, Johnny Cash and many other of my heroes. It was really an honor to meet him. He and his wife just moved to Buda and are settling into the Austin music scene.

After the gig, which was nice and early, we went to find a new place for dinner. Loved Vinny's Italian on Barton Springs. Fabulous bread, great salad, reasonable prices. Thumbs up from this reviewer. Of course, it was the first meal I'd eaten all day and I was desperately hungry. I didn't take the Adderall/speed yesterday, figuring I didn't need it on a Saturday with no real tasks to accomplish.

Did make it to the gym yesterday and I always feel so much better mentally when I do that. Physically, I am hurting today. Amazing how much more the yoga class hurts than just a workout with weights. Stretching. Equals. Pain.

Watched Garth Brooks on Austin City Limits last night. I like a lot of Garth's music, think he is incredibly talented, but I also can see the marketing genius that he is. It amuses me to think of him after a show, studying the tape and saying, "Hey, I like the way I casually scratch at the palm of my hand like that, really makes me look shy and relateable" as he nods to an assistant who makes a note for him to scratch his hand and be shy at the end of all future concerts. He is certainly contrived and "produced" but I also believe he is a very nice person (and I do know people that know him that insist that he is) so I don't see him as Andy Griffith in A Face in the Crowd. Never seen that movie? Rent it sometime. You'll never watch Andy the same way again.

Burgers are here. Lunch is served. My time it up.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland