2000-02-05 Saturday afternoon 14:34:32

Hill Country day

My feet are freezing but I am too lazy to go put on some socks.

The wonderful thing about Saturday is that it is a day full of possibilities and time to do anything in the world I want to do. The bad bad thing about Saturday is that I waste the day reading the paper and drinking coffee and talking on the phone and never getting to any of those projects I think about all week long when I have no time. At least on the weekdays I have that structure of going to work, doing the job that has to be done and coming home. If I accomplish that much on a weekday I can call it a successful day. I don't know how to make a Saturday successful.

The maid rang the doorbell at 8:30 yesterday morning and I was deep into a wonderful sleep. A scramble to get up and meet her and get her started. Mark and I got our day going and then got out of her hair. We drove around the Hill Country a bit and had a wonderful lunch at the Bluebonnet Cafe in Marble Falls. It won't be long until those roads are covered in bluebonnets. My favorite time of year.

Mark drove me up to Willie Nelson's Pedernales Studio where he recorded late last year. Cool place. Off the beaten path near Highway 71.

Visited some antique stores in Johnson City before coming on home.

Maid finished after we were back and left everything absolutely marvelously spic and span. Incredible to have the whole house clean at once. Hope it lasts through the weekend.

Exhausted after the early awakening so I took a nap before work and went to work late in the day. Mark gigged at Speakeasy last night so he was going to be out late. I really buckled down to work quickly knowing I had lots and lots to do and having no desire to work over the weekend. Still took me forever to crank out 11 shows. Wrapped up about 2:30. My jaws were killing me, the insides of my cheeks were raw, my mouse holding hand was cramping and my head and back were screaming in pain. The brain had died hours earlier. No telling what you'll hear on the radio in Lubbock Tuesday morning in the wee hours. I might be quite good with no brain and great physical disabilities.

Update (primarily for myself) on the Adderall: Yesterday I didn't take it until after lunch. As we drove (before the dose) my mind was racing looking for something to talk about but at the same time being fearful that I was driving Mark nuts with my chit-chat. After lunch and the dose my mind was much calmer and, although I was still thinking about a lot of different things, I didn't feel the need to talk or the fear of talking too much. Nice effect. Still came home and took a nap so it doesn't wire me apparently. I certainly am still feeling the appetite suppressant part of the drug, which I hope continues, because I've lost at least 5 pounds. My tongue feels swollen and burned and very very dry, which is the worst of the side effects and I am clenching my jaw more than I have and more than I should, even with the bite guard in place and that is giving me headaches and my TMJ is painful painful. Thumbs up so far though. I like not feeling frantic. If I could just work a little faster. I am going to do my best this week to pick up the pace and just plow through the shows.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland