Friday, Feb. 23, 2007 10:21 am

Back from Big Spring

This week has flown by. My dear Uncle Hollis died on Monday, so that became the focus of my week. I went to Big Spring for his funeral and got back last night. I am whupped. That is a long long drive. My aunt went with me, which made it a little easier in some respects. In others it was hard because she speaks so softly I drove with my body leaning toward her so I could hear and I felt like I was tense the whole time with the effort. But we made it and I heard some good stories from her about her childhood with my dad and we saw some nice things in Big Spring and I was glad we were both there for Uncle Hollis. The only neices he had there were her and our weirdest cousin. I was the only one from the next generation. Not much family at all except his own kids and grandkids and even there, his own son-in-law didn't come! How weird is that? That guy has never come to family reunions, but you'd think he would come to his wife's father's funeral!!

So today I am playing catch up and just hope to make it through the day in one piece. Live spots were missed yesterday, which irritates me a lot. If the traffic girl had done her job and had the log loaded when it should have been loaded, I would have been able to see what I needed to do. So I guessed and then even ASKED her and had it clear, but things didn't make it. Oh well.... breathe....

And this was the week of the breakup in Mark's band. I guess it was Monday that Mark was "fired" or quit or whatever. He's relieved, but suffering a little post-break-up trauma, I can see. Now he (and I) are worried because we hold the note to the van and SW was going to pay it off so we could cancel our insurance on it, etc., but he's having some trouble coming up with the money. We need to get that off of our books.

I'm sure there has been lots more to this week that I don't feel like writing about right now. My mind is functioning slowly. I know I felt like hammered crap on MOnday night. I did go to see Greg play at Flipnotics briefly and then to Antone's for Jason and Kyle (yawn), but saw Cory and John Michael there, then went to the east side. Cory and Trey went over there too and called other Texas music guys to come too. They got there, saw me, and said "Hey! We never expected to see YOU here!" Guys! I am a charter member of this club! So I hope they don't start making it a habit to be there on Mondays. I like that place to be my OTHER friends.

But I was feeling so bad I left before too late and came home and suffered a while. By Tuesday night I was feeling fine again. Just PMS, I guess.

Miss Anne's birthday was Tuesday and I brougth her a plant in a pretty pot and a sweet card. Didn't go out for their celebration because it was going to be the most expensive place in town and I didn't want to spend that kind of money.

I left town with my aunt as soon as I got off on Wednesday night. We had a long long drive and made it up there at about one in the morning.

Okay, I may go take a nap. I need to gear up for this day.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland