Sunday, Feb. 12, 2006 3:44 pm

Comfort food

I am getting worse about not writing in my journal... both this one and the paper one. It's the fault of that damn Stumble feature. It's like channel surfing, but you never hit a commercial and rarely hit a bad show. It's just plain addictive.

I am enjoying the weekend, though, and just resting. I think I need to do a lot of it this weekend after this hard week. I am learning to say no to things, however. The saleswoman that hooked me up with the eye clinic that will do my Lasik wanted me to meet with another high-maintenance, time-consuming client. We had talked about it a few weeks ago, but that was before the eye thing had taken off and become a "real deal." So when this came up again and she wanted me to meet with them Monday or Tuesday I told her (well, I emailed her) that I was overwhelmed and wanted to let things settle before I commited to another high maintenance client. She said she understood and dropped it. That was a relief.

I didn't say no, but I ended up not going out last night. I was going to go see Darrell Scott at the Cactus, but with the cold and wind I wasn't much interested in getting out. But I had a "date" so that made me more commited than usual. I called him, though, and he wasn't feeling well so he was just as willing to let it go as I was. I hated to miss a rare Darrell Scott performance, but you can't be everywhere all the time.

I did get out to a store yesterday. I don't know why I am so hesitant to go OUT so much. I got Mark a toilet seat for Valentine's. If that doesn't say "romance" I don't know what will. I will install it on Monday night so it is there when he comes home from his gig or on Valentine's morning. I shopped for that and also looked at curtains. Mark would like to have curtains in the bedroom in time for SXSW because he is going to be working all night and sleeping in the day through that week.

I also went to the station yesterday and did a little bit of work. Not much (although it took hours), but enough to feel better about the upcoming week. I really enjoying spending time in my office, but with the interruptions of the regular days, I don't get much chance to just "be" there very often.

I have been reading some websites today about musicians and their taxes. That subject if very frustrating to me and this week we absolutely HAVE to get 1099s out to band members.

And I made pie last night. Since I was home and Valentine's is coming up, I made my apple pie. It turned out pretty good. Today I cooked dumplings and they turned out great (although I was out of celery). It is a good weekend for comfort food.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland