Friday, Feb. 10, 2006 10:04 am

Overwhelmed again

This week became a lot more full and overwhelming than I expected it to be when I wrote Monday morning. But now that it is Friday, there is light at the end of the tunnel and I am ready for a break.

I have learned in the past and I continue to learn that I can only handle one commitment beside work during a day. Or at least it seems that way. Wednesday I had three other commitments, yesterday I had two. I just wears me out and taxes my brain to keep track of them.

I went to the eye place to have an exam Wednesday morning and I'm going to have Lasik soon. I test drove a pair of contacts that simulates the vision I will have. It will be nice to get up and be able to see, but I will need glasses for the up close stuff... the vision I've always been able to count on. I don't know how I will pluck my eyebrows or check for chin hairs anymore. I hope it all becomes "clear" (literally) as I get the surgery and get used to the vision. I will have a very long commitment to do spots for them and no compensation other than the surgery and follow-ups. That bugs me, to a degree. But maybe that makes for some job security that they are tied into a two year deal.

Wednesday we had a celebration of the station ratings and that was nice. The only non-nice part of it was that it started at 5 pm so I recorded the last hour and a half of my show (which is stressing to be organizing all of that while I'm on the air) and then I dashed up there to find my boss already leaving to go to his daughter's birthday. So I missed his speech that said nice things about me. Then, of course, I get in there and realize how few of these people I really like. I like most of them, but it is hard to just relax with them. And, of course, there are a few that I just don't like at all. I drank too much in an effort to relax. Way too much. I came home and went straight to bed and then was in misery with a bad headache a few hours later when Mark got home. I am glad I slept all those hours before I had to get up again, and I wasn't really hungover, but it sure made for a miserable few hours. And then Thursday, I wasn't hungover, but I sure wasn't "right." Drinking is a bad bad thing. Or at least overdrinking is.

So last night I went to a karaoke judging contest and didn't drink at all. Now that would have been the time to drink and block out the sound of the singers. Pretty pitiful. And I couldn't be like Simon and Paula and Randy and stop them 30 seconds in. I had to let them sing all 4 minutes and 45 seconds of Pancho and Lefty. The winners were good and a few others were good enough, but there were a whole bunch of bad.

I had lunch with a record guy yesterday. He was nice. Young. From Nashville. He brought along a band booker/promoter from here in town. I thought that would liven up the conversation to have three people, but that guy just bogged down the whole process. It ended up where it would have been more fun for it to have just been me and the record guy. Oh well. You never know. I'm glad the record guy wasn't hard to talk to. That will make me less shy of going to lunch with those guys.

And I set up the voicetracking deal in Virginia. I start next Friday night doing six days a week. My mind is going "NO, not anther commitment" but I can't turn down that kind of money for the minimal amount of work that it requires. Even if it took a full hour a day (and I know it won't once I get rolling), it would be highly worth it. I don't have to go anywhere else, like with a remote, and I don't have to learn a new skill or do anything I haven't done before. It is easy money and I'm going to take advantage of it while the opportunity is there. My boss recommended me for the job, which is nice, and I warned the guy about my voice issues and he was okay with it. I'll just take what comes along and hope it all turns out well. And if it doesn't, I will be philosophical about it.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland