Friday, Dec. 31, 2010 12:12 pm

The Year is Done For

Okay, end of year. We'll be leaving for FW soon for Mark's gig tonight. Still haven't made up my mind at all where I'll be. I don't want to sit for hours and hours at his gig, yet don't want to fight my way back to the Stockyards at the height of the craziness. On and on my mind can't figure it out. I just need to make sure and have my cousin's phone number in my phone in case that's where I decide to go.

I did make a pretty good gumbo this week and I'll have to try it again. I was combining several recipes since I didn't like things about each of them and I ended up with too much salt. Mark thought it was very good, though, so that was good. He liked the consistency and the spiciness/brown taste.

I did also make a casserole from the cookbook the boys gave me. Very easy, very pretty presentation. It has stuffing mix and ham and eggs. It was listed as a side dish and probably would make a better side dish than main dish.

I should be giving some consideration to my thoughts about 2010 and hopes for 2011, but time is running short to get showered and dressed and packed, so I will forgo that for now. 2010 was certainly an improvement for us in many ways. Not the desperate search for money every damn day like the previous years and except for the tax payment, I don't think we borrowed from anyone this year. We need to keep that up in the new year and pay back more of what we do owe. It's getting better all the time.

I would like to stay home this weekend (partially, not really) and clean this office and scrutinize our finances and PREPARE for the New Year, but I know that rarely gets done. I would watch the Alec Guiness movies I've recorded and eat all the leftover snacks in the house and only think about the future, not accomplish anything. And I can think in the car and in the club. Think a LOT.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland