1999-12-30 11:50:54

Continental Club

I'm stuffy and sick. I have got to get this dry Christmas tree out of the house so I can get well.

Some of my fun plans for last night didn't happen but some did. I met up with friends at the Continental Club to see Earl Poole Ball play. Our friend Rambo was playing guitar and Perfect C and Luke were there to watch. It was fun to see them. They are always fun to be with. I hope people think that about me.

The bad part was that we were supposed to go to dinner after the gig but they had all eaten before. That just left me and D-boy to go and we went to the Magnolia. It was packed and they seemed to be in no hurry to clear a table and seat us so we could tell the service wouldn't be much faster once we got seated. I know we didn't have the Austin laid-back attitude that is required for the Magnolia but sometimes WE JUST WANT TO EAT!!!! So we left.

Then we found my car with a flat tire. I didn't tell the husband I'd been hearing a sound on that side of the car for a couple of days. My attention span is so incredibly short I would have had to crawl out of the window while driving the car to check it. As soon as the car is stopped I immediately forget the sound. Oh, well. We (hahaha, I use that WE loosely. I held a flashlight) changed the tire to the spare (which we had to first go air up) and got the car home. We'll worry about the tire Monday. That way, if the world ends tomorrow night, we won't have to worry about it at all!

My sister and her family are in town and I dropped by their hotel last night and had a quick drink with them. They are going to go to the LBJ library today and do some Austin tourist-y things. They are going to come see my studio today. My brother-in-law hasn't seen it before and the boys enjoy playing disc jockey and hearing themselves on the radio. The little one is very good at it. Heaven forbid he should become a disc jockey. I'd rather he make something of himself. Maybe he'll become a piano player in a whorehouse.

Nothing like waking up to the news that George Harrison had been stabbed. I hope he is okay. I hate being this "attached" to famous people. It is going to really tear me up when any of the Beatles, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash and B.B. King die, and I'm sure they all will. I dreamed this week that Willie's obit was in the paper.

On that happy note, I'll close and hope to add some optimistic thoughts before the year ends.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland