1999-12-31 01:34:34

New Year's Resolutions

This will be my last entry of the MILLENNIUM!!!! yawn

I'm sure Saturday morning will start off just like every other morning before it. Only a little more hungover, maybe. But, still, I'm not making fun of any one that is preparing (I take that back, I am making fun of one friend that has gone so far as to buy a CB, for God's sake, "in case the communications go down") because I may need them come Saturday when my stomach starts growling.

I've said I wanted to get some New Year's Resolutions down here. I am going to do just that:

I am going to write better entries in 2000.

That said, the rest of this will probably be pretty boring.

My New Year's Resolutions go from one end of the spectrum to the other, from the sublime to the mundane. "I want my life to be perfect and to look good in a bikini" to "I want to take the trash out of the kitchen before it begins to stink."

For 2000:

The old repetitive ones:

Eat more healthy. Exercise. Write. Get ORGANIZED. Write more letters. Read more. Go to see more movies. Go to more museums and galleries. Get in control of our finances. Save more. Know where our money is and where it is going. Be better to my friends. Learn more. Buy less books (not read less, just don't buy when they're available at the library). Read the magazines I subscribe to.

New ones for 2000:

Take the dogs for more walks. Use my gym membership. Learn more about making Web pages. Stay well. Learn more about my job and improve at it. Apply at local radio stations and learn about Austin radio more---more to know the people involved that to get a job. Do more crafts, be more creative. Take time to think. Bake more. Cook more. Buy more clothes. Learn to sew. Get happy. Learn and practice yoga. Be more outgoing to meet more Austin people.

This list doesn't seem very long. I think the list in my head goes on for reems. I find myself folding a towel and thinking, "I want to buy new towels this year!" or closing the garage door and thinking "I want to make curtains for those windows and weatherstrip this door!" Maybe those are more "to do's" than resolutions.

First and foremost I hope the doctor I'm going to see later in January can help me cope with my lack of attention. It seems to get worse the more I have to do. Tonight I should be packing to go to Dallas and going to bed and I find myself downloading software from the internet and watching Conan O'Brien.

I still can't breathe but I'm feeling pretty good. I think the voice is about to go. I used to have tonsillitis every year until I had them removed when I was in my twenties (a horrible horrible operation to go through that old). Now, instead of tonsillitis I get laryngitis. Not particularly a good substitute for a disc jockey. Bad thing is, when I have laryngitis I "feel" good enough to work. It's when my voice is fine that I feel like crap, but if your voice works, you work. And, at least in local radio, if you have laryngitis but feel okay, you work then too. I hope I have a voice Monday. After some hooting and hollaring in honor of the New Year and maybe even a drink or two of champagne, I might lose it completely and it be gone for days (my husband should be so lucky).

That all said, I'm going to go ahead and go to bed unorganized, unfulfilled, unchallenged, uneducated, etc. etc. since it is still only the old 20th century and we know how backward things are in the 20th.

Have a Happy New Year's Eve, be careful and I'll write again on Sunday or Monday...unless something particularly juicy happens and I get on someone's computer in Dallas and make an entry. Or unless the world collapses in terrorism, vandalism and other-stuff-isms and there is no home to come home to Sunday.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland