1999-12-29 00:22:28

Rambo and Resolutions

I had a hugely ADD day this morning. Either that or I was just over-caffeinated. Or both. I couldn't settle on anything and I was grumpy grumpy. I've got collection companies writing about some lab bills from July that I have been assured over and over from all ends that it is covered and taken care of. No resolution today either. Very frustrating. I'm tempted to stuff them in a drawer and ignore them. I doubt if our credit would be that much worse for a few hundred dollars of unpaid medical bills.

Speaking of medical, I'm feeling crappy. D-boy has been sick for a couple of days and my sister was sick at Christmas so I guess we're all passing it around. Bad sore throat and drainage and overall cruddy feeling. I'm going to suck down some sort of green fluid (besides my own snot----sorry, that was incredibly gross) and go to bed early here in a bit.

Here's one of those little things I put in diaries that no one cares about but me: I got an appointment for next week to get my hair cut a bit and HIGHLIGHTED! I haven't had anything done to my hair in the area of "chemicals" in at least ten or twelve years. I think it is the thing to do for my 2000 in Austin.

Despite my bad start on the day I managed to get a lot of shows done at work. Everything seems to be falling into place to get me out of there in time for New Year's Eve in Dallas and for me to go out with some friends tomorrow night. My friends, Perfect C. and her significant other, Luke, are coming to see D-boy play at the Continental Club. I said I'd come too and we're all going to dinner tomorrow night. An old friend from Dallas is also going to be there because he will be playing guitar. We'll call him Rambo. Not because he is like Sylvester Stallone in any way but because that is his name. I couldn't make up a better name for Rambo.

Quick aside about Rambo. I met him on the night that D-boy and I had our first date. D-boy and I were introduced on a Friday night and decided to go on a sort of date on Sunday night. Only "sort of" because we both had to work Sunday night and decided just to meet up at the Three Teardrops Tavern that was closing down. I had never been to it before but I had read newspaper articles about it and knew it was a place I would like but I had no friends that were "right" for that sort of club. I didn't dare go to that part of town alone (I need to be braver). So we met at the 3Ts, I got there first and was entranced by the place. It was EXACTLY the kind of club I like to be in. A real honky-tonk---great jukebox with bubbles up each side, pictures of Ernest Tubb and Bob Wills on the walls and sawdust on the dance floor. I knew this D-boy had to be something special to ask to meet me at this place. When he arrived the band was just finished for the night. D-boy takes me by the hand and is introducing me to a few people. He said he wanted to introduce me to Rambo. He began to tell me Rambo's credits: He played with Willie Nelson, he played with Jerry Jeff and wrote a song Jerry Jeff sings (I'm blank on which one it is) and he even played with Jerry Lee Lewis in the sixties as the house band at a club in Dallas as Jerry Lee was passing through. All sorts of credentials, to say the least. He's dragging me over to meet Rambo and I'm mortified and embarassed. Remember I hardly know D-boy and have no idea if he really knows Rambo or is just a groupie or fan or hanger-on. Rambo is very gracious and kind to me and quite nice to talk to. I didn't learn it that night (I was still embarassed) but learned over time that D-boy and Rambo truly are good, old friends.

My sister and her family were supposed to come down this week but she's sick and those plans may fall through. I think she has felt pressure that they have to visit us and I've certainly felt pressure because I want to see them but I am so busy at work this week. We spent all day Saturday with them and we'll spend all of this Saturday with them too. So, once, we clarified that they are free to visit Austin without coming to see me (they always come down here between Christmas and New Year's) all seems fine. Don't know if they'll make it or not but I'm not worried about it, either way. I still haven't figured out my path for this weekend. I can drive to Dallas alone or with another "band wife" or drive to Tyler Thursday with D-boy or go up on my own Thursday night to Dallas. Too many choices and too many decisions.

I wanted to get into some of my new year's resolutions but they will have to wait. I got a great new journal for Christmas (two of them as a matter of fact) and I need to start putting something in it. I get too caught up in keeping it "perfect" that I need to go spill a cup of coffee on it or something to make it more useable. I want to sit down some afternoon at Ruta Maya and write in it. Would that look too pretentious? Probably not in this town.

Be braver. That's resolution #1.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland