Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2011 8:30 am

Christmas Past

I feel good. I feel like the New Year begins today.

We had a wonderful Christmas. I hate to go on and on about how wonderful it was because I don't want my family to think that any part of it was wonderful because we weren't there, because that wasn't the case at all. It was just wonderful all by itself. We were home, we ate, we lazed, we watched a movie or two, we read, we computed, we opened a present, we lazed and napped. We did go across the street for a couple of glasses of wine and that as pleasant except they had already had many glasses of wine and the neighbor and her sister (especially her sister) were quite loud and shreaky.

The one real downer of the weekend came yesterday when I found out my old dj friend from my early Austin days was killed in a fire at his home Christmas morning in Kilgore. SO SO SO SAD. He and I wrote back and forth on Facebook and it was fun to chat with him again. The guys (Eric, Chris, LA, Will) had all talked to him over the weekend are truly devastated.

Now it is back to work, but I expect things to be pretty slow and easy going and I want to get things cleaned up and in order for next week when the real New Year begins.

It got cold overnight as my new thermometer tells me. I put a remote gauge on the front porch and it got just down to freezing there. Hopefully just for a moment or two and the plants are okay.

After a lazy cold cloudy Christmas, yesterday was bright and sunny and I got out and cut down all the dead stuff. I haven't picked it up yet. I also sliced my finger really good on a rose thorn while pulling down some vines. It hurts like hell.

I did not follow through with my Friday plan of going to the wine bar. It was cold and rainy and we got off at noon instead of 2 or 3 so I just came on home and did a few things here.

I finished another book this week, one of my ones from Half Price. It was "A Pretty Fat" by Jen Lancaster, I think. Not that great. It was a non-fiction memori type book, but in the style of chick lit and was WAY too "breezy" for me. That is going to be my term for that type of book where every fucking line is written to be super clever and there are too many asides, parenthetical statements, and, in this case, FOOTNOTES! Way too much of a distraction. I started reading the Bill Bryson book last night about the Appalachian Trail and could see that he has one of those very clever funny lines about once a paragraph and I think that is a much better pace. I am enjoying that book a lot already.

I don't want to start my day on a run so I will stop and go shower and go to work. It is going to be a really good day.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland