Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2005 10:03 am

Vacation day

I didn't write yesterday. I guess my day of vacation was a day of vacation here, too.

I started the day off frazzled and it took a long time to get past that. We slept late and the B! called, ready for lunch and to see me. That started things off rushed. I had to get ready for the maids, too, and help scrape together some bonus money for them, too. And then a neighbor dropped by unexpectedly. I love her and her daughter, but they stood and visited for probably 15 minutes. On and on... delays in my day.

I finally did get out and get downtown to meet for lunch, but there was just NO parking to be had where she was meeting me. That didn't help. We did have a nice lunch and enjoyed seeing her and catching up and hearing about her boyfriend. We shopped through the afternoon and the traffic and crowds kept me feeling unsteady. I hate that! I really wanted to just relax and enjoy her and my day off.

Dropped her off at her sister's in the evening and went to the grocery and came home. Nice to be home to the clean house. Mark could tell I was frazzled and was unsure about making a suggestion...

But it was a good suggestion. He wanted to go to dinner and the Armdillo Bazarre. We did that and had the nicest time. We met up with Sethro for dinner and I enjoyed a nice visit with him. He had never been to the Armadillo so we made him go. We got gifts for Mark's mother and brother and one for him and that helped cross names off the gift list.

Afterward, we drove around looking at Christmas lights and enjoying our city. It is nice to belong in a place and I do feel we belong here. I don't know if I am cool enough to really live here, but I know I am too weird to live in other places (comfortably).

Today I need to make some stops on the way to work. I will try to mail a couple of packages even, but that may happen at a UPS store instead of the PO. I tried it yesterday and it was just nuts. Back to work this afternoon and then tonight I have a remote.

I feel less frazzled today than yesterday. Sometimes a vacation day can be more discombobulating than a normal work day. I guess I like routine.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland