Thursday, Dec. 18, 2008 7:08 pm

She's at it again

Yesterday was just about as bad as I feared it would be. Today was somewhat better.

I called M&M yesterday to let her know I was back and would be in to work. She said, great, she wanted to get a notice, sort of a press release, out to the agents and let them know that we were now booking and would be calling and setting up deals. She was "ready to get down to business." So I went to work and started on that project. When she came in she was fired up and ready to work. She vetoed what I had done to a degree and had me change it from a Christmas greeting to strictly business. "I want to be professional! We are in business!" She said while I worked on that, she would make a list of the agents. I'm working along, look over to see her perusing her Fodor's guide to Paris and checking out hotels online. I end up making the list and sending to agents, plus venue managers, and our radio station people, too. Meanwhile, she books her five nights in Paris. I see the receipt email---$700 a night. $3500 total. I don't think I could enjoy a $700 a night hotel room if Donald Trump paid for it for me! She never talked about the price, but went on and on how she is splurging and how her friend that she often travels with is cheap and she wanted a great room, one she wouldn't mind staying in if it is cold and there is nothing to do. $700!! More than I make in two weeks. I hope she doesn't run through her oil money too fast....she's going to need it to pay deposits.

Joey had said he could go out after work so I met up with him. Just as I was meeting him, Mark called from across the street and he was free, too, for a little while. So the three of us went to the Roaring Fork for their fabulous pork stew. Yum, I love that stuff. We had a good visit. Joey spent 28 days on an oil rig moving at 6 mph across the sea. He was bored out of his mind, but said he had coffee and a sunrise every morning for about an hour because there was nothing else to do.

While we are dining and conversing, M&M calls. The old asshole I used to work for had called her to say, "Why did you send this out?? We don't have an agreement yet. Our budget hasn't been approved!" Stupid stupid. She needs to get a contract with those people. She takes them at their word and their word is worthless. There was an email about that time, too, from the sales manager saying "Why did you send this out?" She gave him her breezy "don't worry, this only went to agents, blah blah." Of course, she mainly sent it out because she's heard that this fat manager guy is still bragging to people that he is going to be booking the series instead of her and she wanted to pull the rug out from under him.

Today she wasn't quite so intolerable. She wasn't there long. We put in one offer...which will require a deposit and I wonder if she has considered that. I reworked the offer forms so that they are upgraded and more accurate. She made some changes too that put her name up front more on it. She, fortunately, left before too long. She was going to go see her lawyer, too, to see if she had any recourse (recourse for what? I don't really know.... she hasn't been fired yet).

So I played some Spider and went shopping then. The fog was so thick today! From our 15th floor two blocks from the Capitol, I couldn't even see it! I bought M&M a nice Christmas present of a book about walking tours of Paris and a journal and nice pens. She has already given me a great candle for Christmas. I don't think she has ever given me a gift that she selected and wrapped. I gave her Eat,Pray,Love on CD one time and I don't know that she ever even commented about that gift after that. That's pretty rude. But, as my boss, I figure I should give her something.

Mark's about to go out and hear some music. I will stay in and type. I need to THINK. Think about Christmas cards, and gifts, and the new year, and a new job, and what I'm forgetting. And I need to clean house and fold laundry and plan for the weekend.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland