Sunday, Dec. 21, 2008 11:09 am

Where's the Xanax

First day of winter and it is cold again....38. Yesterday was in the 70s and was fabulous.

I'm not getting to all my "to dos" as fast I was I want to this weekend. Yesterday we had a lovely day though. Mark and I ate at El Mercado on First (he'd never eaten there!) and went to the Armadillo Bizarre and bought gifts for the boys and Mark's friend Les. Still need to find things for the mothers and another something for his brother and we're done. But it was fun looking and shopping and being with Mark all day long. We came home and napped. Then I listened to the Cowboys because of the stupid NFL Network that I don't have. I had a dickens of a time finding a radio station online that had the game since most stations that can broadcast aren't supposed to put it on their stream, but, obviously, some don't know that, ignore that, or just don't think about that, and I finally found a station online that had it. Fat lot of good it did me when they lost.

I am trying to document my M&M stories here so when I write the novel (or my murder confession) I'll have all of the evidence. Friday was another of "those days." She had apparently sent a letter to her lawyer for final tweaking that she wanted to send to the GM of the evil station. So I only saw his tweaks and what he sent her. She called from the beauty parlor and had me read her his letter. So I read it and she'd stop me about every other sentence and say, "But I don't WANT to sound like THEY are my client, THEY are NOT my client and I am NOT doing this for them . . . " She kept sounding mad at ME like I had written the fucking thing. So she gave lots of notes and I went to work rewriting the letter and fixing all the grammar and spelling and mostly formatting problems it had. She gets to the office and pretty much ends up with the letter she had written before, taking out the lawyer's additions and my two additions, except with the formatting and grammar clean-ups. She's rushing me to print it on letter head (which I had to create) and get it in an envelope and she hand delivers it to the station (where the GM is gone and is probably out for Christmas).

So THAT was my Friday. Yesterday, we are out having our enjoyable day when she calls. More about her surprise that our party was fun the night before in a moment. When she finally got around to the reason for her call... We have been pushing off meetings with the people from Gonzales for three weeks. THREE FUCKING WEEKS she has canceled on them because of other meetings that didn't happen or because she didn't want to drive down there or whatever. Finally Friday they called again and really wanted to get this set up before she quits for the Christmas and the New Year. We are meeting tomorrow at 10 a.m. I had told her I would get up and be there for this meeting. So she calls yesterday to say, "I guess we need to give them something when then are there for the meeting. We should have something on paper. Can you work some this weekend, maybe we can get something down?" AUGH AUGH AUGH FUCK. I told her I was quite committed yesterday and that I could do something from HOME today if she would send me what she wanted, or tell me. She'll probably be calling in a bit and I'd better take a valium right now to prepare.

About the party Friday night. It was our company function. Not "MY" company, but the offices we rent. Several lawyers of really three firms. We met for tapas and a gift exchange and then all went to see Raul Malo. It was really fun. Mark went with me. I forgot my dang gift for the gift exchange, though, so I didn't get to play. But Lucky got the cutest little jackalope and I was so enamored of it, he gave it to me. It went with us to Antone's and we had the best time taking pictures of it doing things (drinking, dancing, jamming on stage with Stevie Ray Vaughn). The Raul show was awesome. The stage was all decorated for Christmas and he sang Christmas songs. M&M was supposed to have been my date for the show. Then Mark was available and could go so he was going to come to. I think by that point she had already changed her mind and was going to go to her ex-boyfriends for dinner instead and "Maybe" come to the show part. Even Friday it was "maybe." I think that is rude to be wishy-washy. Either do or don't, but don't throw those maybes in their like "if I deem you guys important enough or I'm bored with what I'm doing, I'll come." So when she called yesterday and asked if we had fun I told her it was a blast and we laughed and laughed, etc. She said, "Really? I don't even know those people." Well, of course she doesn't because the world revolves around her and she doesn't reach out and even say hello to anyone. Beyond about 2 of them, she doesn't even know their names. She went on to tell about the wonderful time she had with the ex and how she had too much to drink and he went to bed and she and her friend stayed and danced and danced. I shook my head because she has complained about her Illinois parties where friends don't know when to leave and she just has to go to bed and leave them. And she does the same thing. Totally different in her mind, I'm sure. I have no doubt that she did not leave his house to walk/drive back to her place at 1 or 2 in the morning either. Slut.

And this is the woman I consider my best friend! How sick is this? I must find a job, and soon. I think at the bare minimum, I am going to find a weekend job to make some extra money and make myself unavailable on the weekends.

At the bazaar yesterday I got a little icon of the snake woman of crete. She has two snakes in her hands, which shows her fearlessness and they are medicine so it shows that she is a healer. And she's got a big rack. She is quite striking and I hope her power watches over me in 2009 (along with my Lucky jackalope) and good thing come my way. I predict a "good thing" is going to come my way next week, possibly even before 2009 is here. Something is going to break soon and change the way this year goes dramatically.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland