Sunday, Dec. 16, 2012 10:08 am

Office Politics

I should have been writing a daily blow by blow through all the legal difficulties at work because it was fascinating and interesting. We couldn't put anything out at all for a while and then we were all put to work trying to find the publishers of the music so that some programs could be cleaned and put out again. Then I found out they were cleaning some of even MY programs and putting them out again, but of course they weren't doing anything except taking out the bad songs and not rearranging things so the order could have been all screwed up as far as I knew. Bad news because they were really taking out a LOT of songs at that point, the whole catalog form this publisher we were in dispute with.

Then apparently I guess the top top dogs realized that the president and others should have known about all of this going on sooner and done something about it and they fired all the executives in the company -- all those SC people that we didn't like. And then they put our old owner and top dog JC back in the driver's seat. They also let go a lot of the SC people, like the whole collections team and I don't know who else (and I learned they had already let go all of our Canadian people the week before). So the power definitely swung back to Austin. The new exec charts all look just like they did when it was just us before March and I hear we are looking for bigger office space here. I would not be surprised if they close that place completely in SC.

But, of course, the legal difficulties were continuing. But finally, just this week, there was a breakthrough and we have an interim agreement until February. But I guess in all of this we learned that we have to have a deal with the publisher and not just the label so we have also started trying to see all the other people we don't have deals with. So lots of songs went back into play along with these guys we were dealing with, but a lot could still come back out soon. But it was a hard busy week as we had to take each program we did and pull out songs we were sure we couldn't use (why we were sure we couldn't use them I don't know) and clean them from the content master and reschedule and rerelease. That all sounds pretty cut and dried and just something that needs to be done, but it was NOT easy on all my programs where I had put whole different music in different categories in for Christmas and now it was all back in other categories now. It took me a long long time. It was hard. But I did 33 "core" (Select) programs and however many clients I had.

Queen was still being snippy in emails though. I got one after I was done with all my core programs that had Crossroads as the subject. It was sent to me and KP. I did not know what that meant. I wrote back and said, Was something supposed to be attached? KP said, Is that your program? I said, No, it wasn't. ... well, it turns out it was and it hadn't been updated in 6 months. I don't know when anyone informed me that it was my program. It is a cool blues program and I would have enjoyed doing it, dammit. I just wish Queen would be more explicit in her emails. and kinder? Perhaps she could say, Have you updated your program Crossroads? Then I could respond with This is not my program! or something.

We had our company party Friday which was okay and our department party last night which was okay. I am looking forward to a lot of people being out of the office this week. I still have lots that needs to be done, that's for sure. But I want it to be quiet so I can do it. Last night JQ told me she is leaving and moving to NYC. I have come to like her and certainly like her efficiency and work ethic. She gets things done. But she put the job search into motion while she still had a horrible SC boss and our situation was at its worst (and it could get back to that point again). I don't blame her. I need to be looking too.

It's been a hard sad week because of national events I won't even put here because I don't want to re-read them later. Then Dad's anniversary yesterday. But I did see Robert Plant at Office Depot Friday and that lifted my spirits.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland