Tuesday, Nov. 27, 2012 7:38 am

Gotta Get Back to This

I want to, must, get back in my habit of writing here - even if I don't "catch up" and recount the day-to-day stuff. I need a place to vent and just put down words from time-to-time. Words with hyphens, apparently.

We had a little cold front and it is 50. I hope that makes if feel more chilly today, but it is still supposed to be 70.

There is a kitten on my lap. He still tries to suckle ALL THE DAMN TIME. I have a blanket on my lap, trying to break him of the habit and also trying to protect me from his claws. He and Phil both need a good trim. Phil is up on the top of the desk looking sad.

Kendall is staying with us. She got in sometime after 1 last night, I guess. I had gone to bed.

I went to book club last night, but it only makes me mad to go so I must quit. I went at Diana's insistence because she wanted to be able to dish about M&M afterward, so I gave in and went and then Diana didn't come! There wasn't a lot we would have dished about as it was M&M's usual lovely spread of food and hospitality, but it was weird that she had her maid there as a guest and I think that was one of Diana's complaints last time (when I wasn't a participant). I did borrow some of their books, but I will return them without going to another meeting, I hope. What do I not like about it? The commitment, the big spread of food and the feeling of obligation that it will be my turn to have it all one day, and probably most, the dislike of the control that Frenchy has on everything --- directing the conversation and on and on. I get so tired of her, but especially in big groups.

There was so much craziness at work yesterday I am dreading going to work, yet fascinated to see what will happen next, too. The boss (what have I called her before? Queen?) sent out a mean snarky email jumping on everyone for NOT DOING YOUR JOB because someone didn't program holiday music into their channel. Before the email came out, her sidekick that I like some and don't like more, came by to ask ME if I had had my channel programmed right. Of course I had and I suggested maybe since it only had 5 to 10 percent Christmas in it, a listener didn't hear enough and complained. She said it should have had 50 percent Christmas. Then we realized we were talking about different channels and she was talking about one that was NOT mine (whew). She was then mad as fire at JP, my cube-wall-sharer, who was out still on vacation. Then it all came to light that his program had been turned over to the new girl, but no one had told her about holiday programming! Probably his fault for not telling her, but also not really his fault either. Not her fault for not knowing. So, all in all, the snippy email was uncalled for.

The big brand unveil the big new corporation was going to do tomorrow has been delayed again because - surprise - they finally came to realize that people don't here are dealing with things bigger and more important than a logo and don't have time to go to a big happy meeting.

And we did have a phone meeting about the legal difficulties we are in and how they are being resolved. No true solutions yet, but we are getting closer to at least having work to do. I still found PLENTY to do yesterday and I think I will be fine today, too. I don't know how people aren't finding something to keep them occupied. I still haven't gotten to cleaning off my desk and I hope I can do more of that today. That will be a New Year's Resolution -- to not let it pile up like this. The CDs will either go on to audio engineering or go in a box to go away. No hanging around to decide.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland