Sunday, Dec. 12, 2004 8:49 pm

O Christmas Tree...

The Christmas tree is up and lit and decorated. Finally making a little headway into the season (with only two weeks left, it is about damn time).

Had a good day out in the Hill Country yesterday. Being out there makes me yearn for something I don't have, though. I don't quite know what it is I need or am craving... quiet? land? peace? There is something lacking that something out there fills for the moment.

The remote was as easygoing as one can be and I enjoyed all but my lack of a voice. But it was a beautiful day and met lots of nice people. Afterward I ran by the barbeque joint out there that I'm about to do some advertising for and got us some good dinner.

Came home and ate with Mark and watched a little TV. Then Mark made an odd suggestion... He had an idea of something we could do TOGETHER! How novel. It might sound like a chore, but the chance to do something together was worth it. We brought down the Christmas things from the attic and then ended up bringing down most everything from the attic and sorting through everything to see what needed to stay and what could be garage saled and what could be tossed. Bugs or mice or something had been into some of the items and that made some decisions easy.

We got a lot done. Today we used his gift certificate to go eat by the lake and the dam outside. The weather was so perfect. I really enjoyed the lunch and wished we could go for a walk or a drive or shopping or something, but now Mark was getting really antsy and testy. We had said this would be the day to get the tree, but when we went by our "regular" tree lot we found they don't take credit cards. We went on to the grocery and got the tree amidst much snippiness and very little of that Christmas goodwill toward men (and wives) that you associate with that act. The one advantage to his antsiness was that we didn't have to go to five tree lots to find the "perfect" tree.

Got home and I found our fruitcake had arrived in the mail yesterday. Hooray! I haven't opened it and cut it, but tomorrow I will and savor it immensely. I am trying to watch the fat and the eating times today in an effort to heal the throat, so I put off the fruitcake.

I decorated the tree and got the house straightened for the maids. And I did a real vacuum job on the couch. It has been looking good after the maids have been here, but I discovered they had not been vacuuming under the cushions or on the sides, so the cat hair was building up. Got that taken care of and I feel virtuous.

Tomorrow is another of those fabulous spa days and then a dash to work. And some real work has to take place tomorrow. We are changing things on Wednesday and I have to be ready for it. Tomorrow and Tuesday is crunch time.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland