Tuesday, Aug. 08, 2006 10:43 pm

Things to be thankful for

My remote yesterday was hot and long. It was at an appliance store, but it was mainly for a job fair they were having. I thanked my lucky stars that I don't have to work for them. Their employees were the oddest assortment and lowest class of people I've ever seen as one group. But I got my money and ran.

Big relief too about the scheduled remote for Sunday. I got out of it. I was stressing and I asked the salesman to be honest with me about his feelings if I said I wanted out of it. He said "I don't give a shit!" Bless him. Miss A will do the remote and I'll be free to come home slowly from my family reunion.

I had the sweet boys of Reckless on my show yesterday. Such nice brothers. They gave me a fabulous Hatch Print all framed and autographed, too. That really made me feel special. I need to write a thank you note.

I did not go to the east side last night. Still way too tired from tubing. I stayed home and folded laundry and went to bed early.

Talked to B! more today about her brother's death. He just laid down and died. As sad as it is, I'm glad he went peacefully and I'm glad that his family never had to nurse him and take care of him through a long expensive illness. That is a good thing. They are planning a funeral and even a wake for later this week. I don't know if I'll be able to go with my reunion plans, but I hope I can.

Don't know if I've written that I have another opportunity to voice track for a Tyler station. I've worked for them before so they asked me again to do middays. It isn't a done deal. My first reaction is always flattered and pleased that I am wanted, then I think "Augh, I hate tracking. I don't want to do it." I told Mark I was debating it and he said "Why would you NOT do it?" He's right, the downside is minimal compared to the upside... a big bump on the income, almost a 10% raise? So, now I hope I'm not counting my chickens before they hatch. I thought I'd hear today. It should be a little easier to track than the one I do now because it is shorter, but it is in a daypart where I'd be heard by more of the staff people so I have to be good. We'll see....

And Seth has a cool opportunity coming his way. He's going to get to open for Marcia for the next few weeks and be her guitar player until she hires a new one. Good way for him to spread his name a little bit.

I am reading a poorly written book called Death By Diet. I don't even remember where I saw a reference to it on the web, so I ordered it cheap. It recommends calcium to fight what ails you. I bought some calcium today and we'll see if it helps. As tired, cranky, and sore as I have been for what seems ages, we'll see if it improves matters.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland