2000-08-30 12:41 am

Houston

Houston was a fun trip. I have only been to Houston a few times in all my years and this was the first "just for fun" trip. Houston is ONE BIG CITY!! Good lord, to go see the relative I wanted to visit we had to drive over thirty minutes. I know it would be the same in Dallas if you weren't familiar with where different suburbs were, but I'm used to Dallas so I don't complain about it.

I got to eat at the famous James Coney Island that is opening in Austin soon, just across from my office. Very good hotdogs. Not cheap, but reasonable I guess. I just have a hard time paying $2 for a hotdog (despite how wonderful it is with sauerkraut, etc. yum I'm getting hungry) when you could get a hamburger that would fill you up a lot more for the same price or less. I also ate at the 59 Diner that I had heard so much about. Really cute place.

Let's see, did we do anything besides eat? Yes, we visited with our, hmmmm, step-sister-in-law? She's the daughter of the woman that fixed me and Mark up in the first place and then she (the mom) married Mark's dad. So I've known this girl and her husband longer than I've known Mark but they are now related. Really interesting and educated couple. Not the kind that I would end up being friends with on a day to day basis but great to catch up with and have a good conversation with.

Two of the other guys in the band had girlfriends from Dallas down for the weekend. We didn't see them much. They had had champagne in the rooms awaiting their girls' arrivals and Mark did the same. Of course, it was Mark's idea in the first place but I don't think he would have done it just for me if the others hadn't been doing it. Very nice touch. Made me feel like he was glad that I came over.

Sometimes I wonder if he wants me at gigs or not. The bass player suggested this week that I was coming out so frequently to "check up" on Mark. I don't have any reason to check up on him but the fact that he told me that made me wonder if he doesn't want me there so much. I didn't go to where he was playing last night. I went to see the Dale Watson Band at Ego's. I had a lot of fun. Met some new people and several of my other friends were there too so I wasn't alone. Danced a couple of songs. Of course, today I am dragging. I had to get up early and I am regretting the late night.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland