2000-08-25 12:25 pm

Off to Houston

I need to get packing and get going to Houston. I'm going to see the band tonight and tomorrow night but I'm also going so that I can visit a sweet elderly cousin that didn't make it to our family reunion this month. She is a real hoot. Funny and sweet and very much like I want to be when I am 80+.

It seems like lately I am very bored and tired of the people around me. I'm sure it must be me and not them since it is the same people I've been around for quite a while. Several of my co-workers have been getting on my nerves a lot. One in particular, who is my friend, has been driving me nuts with her laugh and her comments and her interruptions into my workday.

Maybe a lot of this is fear of the unknown. Two weeks from yesterday I am going to Spokane for 10 days. Forever! I have been aggravated with Mark over this whole thing. Three months ago when this all began he was quite interested in going with me and making this our only vacation of the year. What a great opportunity for him to see the great Northwest. A few weeks ago it came up again and he said that no, he couldn't go to Spokane because the band is so busy right now and he wouldn't be able to get away at all. I abandoned the idea until last week when he says he wants to go and sure he could get a substitute to fill in some gigs. I was still not making plans for this because it was getting too close to the time to book and I knew we couldn't afford it. Then a dear friend called and offered (unsolicited!) some of her frequent flier miles to send him to Spokane with me. What a generous offer. Once again, though, Mark says, no, too busy, hard to get a sub, doesn't want to miss a gig, etc. etc. etc. I'm not mad at him, I don't need him to go with me, I just wish he would make a decision and stick to it and quit dragging my emotions this way and that.

I'd better get to the stuff I need to get together. I hate leaving straight from work to go somewhere, but then, at least I get ready and go. When it comes to leaving from home, I drag my feet all day.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland