2000-09-05 12:44 am

Labor Day weekend

After reading Kramer's weekend entries (www.astrofish.net) I'm ready to go to west Texas again. Through the 90s we made it to Terlingua in the odd years (and, yes, they were truly odd years) until 1999 brought us to Austin and new bands and no gigs at the famous chili festivals in Terlingua. Sigh. We had some wonderful times. November can be a great time of year to go to Terlingua. If I were just going for fun and a vacation I wouldn't go when the chili cookoffs are going on. Too many people and too many drunks.

But that was his weekend, not mine. Mine was here in hot hot hot Austin with a touch of an allergy cold making me cough and making me miserable. I want to get over it before I leave for Spokane on Thursday so I'm dosing up on the echinacea and Vitamin C.

Saturday was Seth's birthday and the band played at Momo's so we had a good time. Girlfriends from Dallas, cousin from Denmark, sister from North Carolina, Uncle Tim, et al. Seth felt suitably lauded for attaining the ripe old age of 28. Hmmm, when I was 28 I lived in Dallas and was traveling for a living and wore suits and hose most days of the week and led a pretty corporate existence. Was I dating anyone at 28? I'm pretty sure I wasn't. Very different life from the one I have now. I wonder how different Seth's life will be when he is 41?

I danced one LONG dance at the end of the night and we were really going after it. I got off the dance floor and knew I had BLISTERS from one dance. My big toes are killing me still. Huge blisters from one dance. There ought to be a law.

Yesterday we continued to celebrate Seth's birthday at a cookout. It was fun. It could have been more fun if my cold wasn't making me drag but it was a good time.

Today was Labor Day and I labored. Trying to get ahead for this Spokane trip. Still lots to do.

If I sound particularly boring tonight is because of the cold and the toes and the tredpidation because of the upcoming trip.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland