Sunday, Aug. 26, 2007 9:54 am

Bad remote, stuff to do

My head is fuzzy. I am up early again for another remote and to send Mark off to College Station for a gig.

I hope hope hope the remote today goes better than yesterday. The new kid on the board is a lummox. I don't know why that word came to mind and I'm not sure at all it is what I'm looking for. I just hate to use the word idiot on a person I hardly know. I got to the remote and my engineer--- on his first day as an engineer--- was all excited and trying to get things going and set up. He told me about the trials he had faced so far, but at this point he wasn't finding anyone in the studio or anywhere in the building so there was no way he could test and make this work. We called and called and had no luck so I knew we were getting short on time and I drove UP to the station to record these before they ran. Just as I got to the station, the little board op called. I was doing my best not to yell at him, but I said "Where the hell have you been?" which wasn't very kind of me. He's new and probably didn't know and didn't have enough ambition to get there early. I still ran in and booted him from the studio and recorded the things and they weren't very good. Then I went back to the remote. Meanwhile, my phone is ringing with my APD and the reliable producer/board op/friend who was willing to come up there, etc. So I got back to the remote after missing an hour of it and we made it through.

I went shopping for a bit and then listened to the next remote on my way back and stopped by there. They had more trials as I heard a remote play as it should have, but then dead air and two spots playing at once. Found out they had missed a whole break because he didn't know how to make it happen. This is the same guy I'm working with today so I'm going to go by the station and pre-record and then still let him try and make it work from out there. We'll see how it goes.

I did do some frustrating shopping yesterday. My sister had bought some shoes she loved at an outlet shoe store, so I went down and had to hunt and hunt and walk and walk to find the right store and then found out their shoes were $113 for the ones she was talking about. I'm sorry, I'm cheap, I'm not going to pay $113 for a pair of shoes. I found one little shirt that was buyable.

Came back home to Mark's drummers' garage sale. He was doing well. I cooled off and ate something and then ventured forth again. I had to go to a baby shower to I went to the baby store and found her something. That wasn't too bad. Then I went to Kohl's and found two pairs of pants and a pair of shoes I liked for $30 thankyouverymuch.

The shower was a shower. Nice food and booze, but still a shower. Not a lot of people I knew, but a few. Enough to have people to talk to.

Came home sweating and did nothing for the rest of the night. Plans of quilting and working on logs just vanished into the heat. We watched Soup and Big Love and more Big Love and Cowboy football (they lost to the Texans) and went to bed. I hope to accomplish SOMETHING today. I feel like the quilt needs to get started or it won't get done, but I also MUST do about seven logs today in order to go on vacation. Mark is leaving though, so I won't have him to distract me. Grocery store after my remote for cat food, home to put in laundry and take out the trash. I won't worry about the lawn or outdoors because it is going to be really hot. I'll do logs first and get at least four done. While I'm on a roll I may be inspired to get all seven. And then I will work on the quilt and get a good start on the binding. Those two things HAVE to be accomplished today or I will feel like I just let this day disappear.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland